alea
alea
alea
alea
醫療保險貼士
alea
已核實

8個小貼士教你減低來年的醫療保險費用

Alea 保險顧問為你帶來8個小貼士,教你減低今年的醫療保險費用。
最後更新:
2021年9月2日
alea
已核實
8 Tips to reduce Health Insurance Costs This Year
8 Tips to reduce Health Insurance Costs This Year
Alea 保險顧問為你帶來8個小貼士,教你減低今年的醫療保險費用。
最後更新: 2021年9月2日

醫療保險保單通常以一年為期,每年續保日期前的幾個月正是重新審視保單福利、保障及保險公司的最佳時機,特別是如果你的情況出現了變化。這也是嘗試降低保險花費的絕佳機會。只要知道竅門,你可以享受更低的開支、更少的、更可控的醫療福利。Alea 醫療保險專家為你帶來8個小貼士,幫你減低來年的醫療保費開支。


#1 使用你的公司僱員醫療保險

節省醫療保險費用的第一步是了解你目前的保險選項。你工作的公司是否提供僱員醫療保險福利?如有的話,不妨花點時間仔細閲讀相關條款。

僱主提供的團體醫療計劃包含的選擇一般比較有限,通常限於同一家醫療機構旗下提供的幾種不同計劃,但計劃由你的僱主分擔保費,也不失為一種節省醫療開支的方法。

雖然如此,個人保險方案也有其優勢:

  • 你可以自由選擇最適合自己的保險公司和計劃。
  • 你無需擔心會在離職或轉工時失去醫療保險
  • 你可以選擇一個計劃,讓您去看自己想要的醫生。

#2 提高墊底費

所謂墊底費又稱自付額或免賠額(excess / deductible),指向保險公司索償前你須自行支付的金額。設有高免賠額的保險計劃每月保費會較低。你可以利用僱員福利中的的索償證明來支付墊底費,而無需自付費用。換句話說,使用醫療服務時,你可以先和公司醫療保險索償,然後再從你個人的保險計劃索償任何剩餘金額。通過出示工作證明中的索償證明,已報銷的金額可用作你的個人墊底費——如此,全程你並無需自行支付墊底費。

如果你每年僅看一至兩次醫生,此選項可以幫助你節省支出。但是如果你的醫療花費較大的話,你也可以嘗試同樣做法,但是最好提前計算清楚風險,有機會你將需要自行支付墊底費。

例如,ALC Health 有提供靈活的墊底費安排,讓你無需提交新的醫療問卷就可以選擇或者增加墊底費金額,而且墊底費不適用於牙科、產科及保健福利。

#3 完善你的家庭保單

我們建議同時以同樣保單條款為家人購買保險。家庭保險計劃通常會為有2位或以上成員的家庭提供折扣,幫你減少保費開支,同時節省時間,一舉兩得。根據我們的實際經驗,為所有家庭成員管理同一個續保日期、保險計劃、索償流程以及保險公司會容易得多。

例如,保柏環球 Bupa Global 無需額外費用即可覆蓋2名10歲以下的兒童;Cigna 信諾提供10%至20%的家庭折扣;保險公司 April 可以為2位成員提供5%的家庭折扣,為3位成員提供7.5%折扣,為4位成員提供10%折扣,為5位或更多家庭成員提供15%的折扣——即使各家庭成員享有不同的承保內容。

如果你對自己的保險計劃有疑問或需要保險上的建議,歡迎隨時聯絡 Alea 顧問

為你帶來更好的醫療保險體驗

#4 考慮網絡內的醫療機構

按你的健康狀況需要,你可能需要使用保險公司醫療網絡以內或以外的醫療機構。正常來説,因為與保險公司的合作關係,網絡内的醫療機構收費會較低。仔細了解網絡醫生名單或可以幫你大大減低費用,盡情享受保險會員卡的無現金支付。

#5 使用醫療服務前先確認承保範圍

在接受治療之前,請先看看你保單的承保內容,有時你可能會找到價格較低的替代方案。你也可以與主診醫生溝通你的保險範圍,嘗試找出可減少自付費用的方法。即使無助降低費用,也能讓你事先掌握收費明細,並提前在財政上作好準備。

同樣的建議也適用於保單所涵蓋的病房類型。在香港的私家醫療機構,醫生的收費與病房類型有關,病房規格越高,其他收費項目就越昂貴。醫生費用因應私家、半私家和一般病房級別亦有所不同。想要節省開支,你可以衡量自己所需的舒適程度,盡量避免一些不必要的花費。

無論如何,你的健康才是最大的財富。不要因爲擔心浪費金錢而延誤治療,犧牲自己的健康。

#6 照顧好自己

保持健康的生活方式是遠離醫生最好的方法,更可以大大為你節省醫療開支。

世界衛生組織資料顯示,在亞洲,非傳染性疾病(NCDs)(主要為心血管疾病、慢性呼吸道疾病、糖尿病癌症)是健康的頭號殺手,每年奪去約850萬人的生命。死亡個案中有三分之一是過早死亡,為70歲以下人口。這些疾病當中大部分都與4個可改變的行為危險因素有關,包括:吸煙、不健康飲食,缺乏運動和過量飲酒

在美國,每10個成年人中就有6個患有慢性疾病。美國疾病管制與預防中心提到了這類疾病的4種主要生活方式風險包括吸煙、營養不良,缺乏運動和過量飲酒。

過上健康的生活,每天進行適量身體活動,養成均衡的飲食習慣,不但可以提高身體免疫力,減少病痛,更能減少醫療費用。

#7 節省藥物費用

求診時可以諮詢醫生,是否可以改用含有相同有效成分但是價格較低的仿製藥或非專利藥,取代品牌藥。如果沒有可替代的仿製藥,醫生或可以處方價格較為便宜的藥物來治療同一疾病。

部分情況下,你也可以要求用非處方藥物代替,尤其是產前維他命或鐵補充劑一類保健品

依照指示按時服用所需劑量藥物,否則可能會導致其他健康問題,有礙身體康復。

如需藥劑師提示及更多有關藥物與保健品的資訊,歡迎瀏覽 Healthy Matters 的獨家指南:香港藥物及保健品指南

#8 尋求保險專家幫助

醫療保險經紀的角色是幫助你找到符合家庭需要和預算的最佳保險方案。

保險顧問的工作包括:

  • 幫你物色和比較不同的醫療保險計劃選項。
  • 向你解釋共付額和自付額如何影響你的整體醫療保健費用。
  • 負責處理複雜的情況,譬如所謂「收取差額」等不可預見的費用。
  • 無論隨時隨地,都以你的最大利益為先。

我們為你準備了9個重要問題,幫你充分了解你的保險經紀人。

正考慮自己家人僱員購買醫療保險?Alea 專家幫到你!

Alea持平的意見及個人化的服務,給你來自20多間保險公司、超過100種靈活選擇。立即取得免費報價比較你的選項,或預約電話諮詢,了解更多!

我們的醫療保險顧問會儘快與你聯絡,解答你有關醫療保險的所有問題!


本文由 Alea 獨立撰寫,未經贊助。文章僅提供參考資訊,不能取代專業意見。如需進一步的建議,請與專家聯絡。

alea
alea
alea
alea
Health Insurance Tips
alea
Fact Checked

8 Tips to Reduce Health Insurance Costs This Year

Who doesn't want a reduction in insurance costs this year? Alea Advisors give you 8 tips to make the most of your options.
Last Update:
September 23, 2021
alea
Fact Checked
8 Tips to reduce Health Insurance Costs This Year
8 Tips to reduce Health Insurance Costs This Year
Who doesn't want a reduction in insurance costs this year? Alea Advisors give you 8 tips to make the most of your options.
Last Update: September 23, 2021

Health insurance plans are generally one-year contracts. Every year, reviewing your options a few months before your renewal date is the best time to consider your benefits, plan or insurer, especially if you have had a change in circumstances. It is also the perfect opportunity to try reducing your costs! With the right approach, you can make your health insurance premium cheaper, less restrictive and more predictable. Alea Advisors give you 8 tips to help you cut costs on your health insurance.


Tip #1: Check out your options at work

Your first step towards saving money on health insurance is to know your options. Does your workplace offer health insurance benefits? If so, it could be worth taking a closer look at your employee health benefit options.

Your employer-paid group plan may have more limited options - generally a few different plan options within the same health care company - but it could save you money since you would be sharing premium costs with your employer.

That being said, individual plans also have their advantages:

  • You get to choose the insurance company and plan that works best for you.
  • You can change jobs without losing your insurance coverage.
  • You can choose a plan that allows you to see the doctors you want.

Tip #2: Raise your deductible

A deductible is an amount you pay for health care services before your health insurance begins to pay. A plan with a high deductible will have a lower monthly premiums. Plus, you can pay this deductible by proof of reimbursement from your work insurance so you don't have to pay it out-of-pocket. In other words, you claim from your work cover first then claim from your personal insurance any outstanding amount. By showing proof of reimbursement from your work cover, the amount reimbursed can be used towards your personal deductible. And "voilà", you didn't pay the deductible yourself.

If you only see your doctor once or twice a year, you may save money with this option. However, if you do end up needing significant care, keep in mind that you will need to have the cash on hand to cover the deductible. It is a risk to take but it can be worth exploring this possibility: do the math before eliminating it!

For instance, ALC is one of the most flexible insurance providers when it comes to deductibles: you can add or increase your deductible without a new medical questionnaire, plus the deductible doesn't apply to its dental, maternity, and wellness benefits.

Tip #3: Optimize your family coverage

We advise you to cover your family at the same time and on the same policy. You can often get a discount for 2 or more people on a family plan. This will optimize not only your budget but also your time and management. From experience, it is a lot easier to manage one renewal date, one plan, one claim's process, and one provider for all family members.

For example, Bupa Global covers two children aged up to 10 at no extra cost. Cigna offers family discounts between 10% and 20%; and the insurance provider April offers family discounts of 5% for 2 members, 7.5% for 3 members, 10% for 4 members and 15% for 5 or plus family members - and this, even if family members are on different levels of cover.

If you have questions on your current plan or plan to get a new one but need advice, ask us and we'll answer right away!

Tip #4: Take a closer look at In-network healthcare providers

Depending on your health coverage, you may have the choice to see providers who are in-network or out-of-network. You pay less to see providers who are in-network because they have a contract with your health insurance provider, which means they charge lower rates. Taking a closer look at this list could help you reduce costs substantially plus benefit from cashless payment. Just flash your insurance member card!

Tip #5: Review coverage before seeking treatment

Take a look at what your policy covers before you go in for treatment. Sometimes there may be less-costly alternatives available to you. Tell your doctor what your insurance covers and he could offer you a way to reduce your out-of-pocket expenses. Even if there is nothing to be done about it, at least you will have a heads-up regarding the final bill and can prepare your finances accordingly.

The same advice applies to the type of room covered in your health insurance policy. In Hong Kong where doctors' fees are correlated to the room type, the more expensive the room, the more expensive every bill item! Doctor fees are built around the private, semi-private and ward-level rooms. Finding a balance between what is necessary and what makes you feel comfortable, and what is a luxury or expendable could help you reduce drastically some costs.

Keep in mind that being smart does not only mean saving money, it also means not taking risks. Don't delay a necessary trip to the doctor or emergency room because you are afraid of what it might cost. Keep in mind that the key reason behind health insurance coverage is to take care of you — and there is no amount of money more important than that.

Tip #6: Take care of yourself

Maintaining a healthy lifestyle is the safest way to stay out of the doctor’s office and therefore saves money on healthcare.

According to WHO, noncommunicable diseases (NCDs) — mainly cardiovascular diseases, chronic respiratory diseases, diabetes and cancer — are top killers in Asia, causing around 8.5 million deaths each year. One-third of these deaths are premature and occur before the age of 70. Most of these diseases are caused to a large extent by four modifiable behavioral risk factors: tobacco use, unhealthy diet, insufficient physical activity and harmful use of alcohol.

In the USA, 6 in 10 adults have a chronic disease. CDC mentions 4 key lifestyle risks for such a disease, which are tobacco use, poor nutrition, lack of physical activity and excessive alcohol use.

By simply living a healthy lifestyle, with some daily physical activity, a healthy diet and taking care of your immune system, you could feel better and reduce your medical expenses.

Tip #7: Save money on medicines

Ask your health care provider if you can switch to generic medicines. They have the same active ingredients but cost less than brand name drugs. If there is no generic alternative, your provider can give you a less expensive medicine that treats the same condition.

You could also ask for an over-the-counter alternative, especially for supplements, like prenatal vitamins or iron supplements.

Take all of your medicines as directed. Not taking your medicine or not taking enough medicine may lead to further health problems.

Looking for pharmacist tips and information about medicines & supplements? Check out Healthy Matters' Exclusive Section.

Tip #8: Work with an insurance expert

A health insurance broker's role is to help you find the best plan for both your family’s needs and budget. An insurance advisor will:

Want a better insurance experience?

Looking for health insurance for yourself, your family or your team?

Alea brings you choice, unbiased advice and personalized service, with access to 100+ options from 25 insurance companies. Receive a free comparison quote or schedule a chat with us today.

An advisor will be in touch to answer all your questions!


This article was independently written by Alea and is not sponsored. It is informative only and not intended to be a substitute for professional advice and should never be relied upon for specific advice.