alea
alea
alea
alea
醫療保險貼士 / 指南
alea
經持牌顧問核實

【危疾保險】明白你的所需保障範圍、保額及報價

專家詳細分析你的危疾保險需要。
最後更新:
2022年9月14日
alea
經持牌顧問核實
危疾病人往往需要住院治療,長時間離開工作
危疾病人往往需要住院治療,長時間離開工作
專家詳細分析你的危疾保險需要。
最後更新: 2022年9月14日
目錄

關於 Alea
Alea 是香港首屈一指的保險經紀公司,對複雜的保險市場具多年經驗。我們會幫你節省時間和金錢,比較來自超過25間保險公司的100多款保險產品,包你找到最合適的選項。我們的保險顧問會隨時為你解答任何問題!


保險顧問幫你分析危疾保險選項

生命面前,人人平等,任何人都有機會患上重病。

過去幾年,Alea 見到大眾對危疾保險的興趣與日俱增,然而,危疾保險產品多樣、複雜,一般消費者或難以明白自己的真正需要,更遑論理解當中細節。

至少在最壞情況有機會出現之前,是時候認真審視你的個人情況,找到合適的保障,為家人的生活未雨綢繆。不知道應從何開始?事不宜遲,馬上由 Alea 為你航。


危疾保險是什麼?

危疾保險(Critical illness insurance)是一種風險管理工具,當受保人被診斷出罹患嚴重疾病時,保險公司會支付一筆過款項賠償。與傳統的醫療保險只能用於支付醫療費用不同,危疾保險計劃的賠款可供自由用於醫療及非醫療用途,如家庭生活費、租金和貸款等,視乎你的需要,也可彌補你離開工作崗位期間所失去的收入來維持家庭生計。

危疾定義及保障範圍

每間保險公司對「危疾」或設有不同的定義,平均會涵蓋指定的60-70種常見嚴重疾病。常見的危疾包括:

癌症、心髒病和腦血管疾病是香港的頭號殺手,佔2020年死亡人數的48.4%。因此,癌症、心臟病和中風是危疾保障的重點,受所有計劃涵蓋,現實更佔索賠個案的90%以上。

*同一疾病的賠償或設有1-3年的等待期

保障範圍注意事項

基於危疾保險計劃和保險公司定義上的不同,一些較為輕微或罕見的疾病或不受個別計劃所保障。例如針對同一疾病,計劃可能只允許一次索賠或多次索賠;有些計劃可能不涵蓋復發性癌症;有些計劃可能並不承保早期癌症及原位癌,或者對這些情況設定時間或金錢限制。

此外,如你身上有任何投保前已有病症或相關病史,可能會不獲承保或被保險公司收取額外保費(俗稱加 loading)。如果你曾經就任何可能惡化成危疾的健康狀況諮詢過醫生或接受過檢查,保險公司亦有可能拒絕你的申請。

Alea 保險顧問服務

我們的專業保險顧問會隨即與你聯絡,幫你找到適合的保險。

*
*
電話*
電郵*

危疾保險如何運作?

保單期內,保單持有人(policyholder)每月或每年須向保險公司支付保費。一旦確診任何一種指定危疾,保險公司將向受保人(insured)支付一筆過現金賠償。大部分情況下,投保人同時為受保人,但你也可以為配偶、父母或子女購買危疾保險。

你可選擇獨立投保危疾保險,也可以在其他人壽保險上的附加危疾保障。香港法例下,所有保險賠價都毋須扣稅,受益人可以獲得保單列明的全額保障。

現金價值

現金價值是指儲蓄保險保費中可產生利息的一部分,只可於退保或中止保單時提取。保單持有人支付的保費將用於保障款項、保險公司的成本和利潤,其餘部分則會通過保險公司的投資賺取現金價值。含儲蓄成份的終身危疾保險一般附有保證現金價值,相反,定期人壽保險則多不設現金價值。

另一方面,一些保險公司可能會提供紅利/花紅(dividend),但通常是無保證的,可供保單持有人提取。

危疾保險種類:定期、終身危疾保

危疾保險產品主要可分為定期危疾保險和終身危疾保險兩種,各自主要特點一目了然:

定期危疾終身危疾
保障年期1/5/10/20年,可續保至年齡上限終身(或直至100歲)
供款期保單生效期內每年供款,每次續保時保費或有調整10/15/20/25年供款期內每年供款,固定保費,不會按受保人年齡調整
保費較低較高
賠償次數通常只限單次索償索償主要危疾後仍可多次索償
保障範圍或只限於常見的危疾新增覆蓋多種疾病
現金價值沒有

正在尋找危疾保險?

我需要危疾保險嗎?

香港擁有全球第二昂貴的私人醫療系統。你的醫療保險可能足以涵蓋大多數常見疾病,但在面臨癌症、器官衰竭或中風等嚴重疾病時,相關治療費用可能以十萬計,很可能超出一般醫療保險的保障範圍,普通家庭或難以負擔。患病期間,病人可能在幾個月內甚至以後都無法工作或賺取任何收入,讓家庭財政雪上加霜。

萬一患上重病,危疾保險人便能大大派上用場,保證你和家人的生活質素,緩解家庭財務狀況,一來可以用於支付龐大的治療費用,二來維持家庭日常運作,特別是如果你本身肩負養家糊口的責任。

由於情況因人而異,投保前你可能需要考慮自己的財務狀況、家人的需要,以及僱主有否提供因患病而未能工作的保障,如有,保障時間長度等因素。

投購危疾保險最好趁着年輕、健康的時候,提早鎖定較低的保費,從此便可高枕無憂,無時無刻保護你的家人,無需擔心日後身體出現狀況,再難以得到承保。

我應為子女購買危疾保險嗎?

為人父母自然無時無刻希望給孩子最好的一切,事關健康更不例外。一些保險公司早在懷孕22週就為未出生的嬰兒提供危疾保險,甚至可承保先天性疾病。有了危疾保險,小朋友從小就可享受全面的保障,若不幸在成年之前出現任何重大疾病,部分產品會提供額外賠償。

根據香港癌症資料統計中心,香港每年約有180名 0至18歲的兒童和青少年被診斷出患有癌症,其中較常見的類型為白血病淋巴瘤以及腦部和脊椎腫瘤。其他疾病如川崎病哮喘糖尿病、血友病和自閉症譜系障礙的危害也不可忽視,更可能影響兒童終生。

照顧生病的小朋友是父母可能面臨最痛心的事之一。對於小朋友,危疾保險和醫療保險必不可少,能在困難時候及時提供最好的照顧,而不會給父母帶來額外的經濟負擔。即使父母一方不得不暫時離職照顧孩子,危疾保險的賠款也能保證家庭財務靈活。

我需要多少保額?

簡單估算,你的危疾保險保額應至少為你年薪的1-3倍,以便在你停工接受治療時維持你和所愛的生活費用。

然而我們明白人人都有不同的境遇,因此最好在簽署保單之前先諮詢經驗豐富的顧問。

➜ 專家提提你:越來越多人會選擇**「分散投資」**,一方面投保危疾保險,以備重病時自用,另一方面購買人壽保險,萬一發生最壞的情況也可保家人安心。

危疾保險保費價錢

提交申請後,保險公司會要求你填寫一份投保表格,部分個案或會被要求進行身體檢查(當保額超過美元$500,000)來評估風險。以下是一些可能影響保險公司決定保費的因素:

  • 年齡*
  • 性別
  • 健康狀況
  • 吸煙或非吸煙人士
  • 肥胖
  • 生活方式
  • 家族病史
  • 所需保障範圍

*年屆60或65歲的申請人有機會遭保險公司拒絕承保

Alea 顧問將全程為你導航,確保順利完成申請手續。我們與多間本地及國際保險公司合作,提供固定保費危疾保險計劃——不論你的年紀或健康狀況如何變化,保單有效期內保費都維持不變,給你持續可靠的保障。

作為危疾保險專家,Alea 擁有你需要的所有最新產品和市場動向。我們為你細心比較多種產品,隨時為你解答疑難,幫你找到最貼合你需要的計劃。

立即聯繫專業保險顧問,取得免費的個人化危疾保險報價。

常見問題

危疾保險可保障哪些疾病?

危疾保險平均會涵蓋指定的60-70種常見嚴重疾病,一般包括癌症、心臟病、中風三大主要危疾其他常見的疾病有認知障礙症、器官衰竭、殘疾、多發性硬化及主要器官移植等。

不同保險公司及計劃或有不同保障範圍,請仔細查閱保單條款,如有任何問題,可向保險公司查詢。

我需要多少保額?

你的危疾保險保額應至少為你年薪的1-3倍,以便在你停工接受治療時維持你和家人的生活費用。你可考慮將現金賠償用於支付患病期間的醫療費用、日常生活開支,並因應個人的財務狀況估算保額。

危疾保險與人壽保險有什麼不同?

主要區別在於危疾保險是生前支付保險利益,支付予受保人,而人壽保險屬於身故賠償,在受保人去世後支付給受益人。

危疾保險與醫療保險有什麼不同?

一般醫療保險只可賠償治療和住院費用,而如果你被診斷出患有保單指定的危疾,危疾保險則會支付一次性現金賠償,賠款可按個人意願用作任何醫療或非醫療用途。

危疾保險如何申請索償?

你需要向保險公司提供醫療報告、醫療證明、病理及檢驗報告之副本,茲證明診斷結果。你亦需要填寫索償申請表以及身份證明文件作查核之用。

我可以退保嗎?

如果你決定中途取消人壽保險單,你將失去保障和任何已支付的保費。危疾保險或容許保單持有人取回累積的紅利和利息(如有)。

我們的專業保險顧問會隨即與你聯絡,幫你找到適合的保險。

*
*
電話*
電郵*

正考慮自己家人僱員購買醫療或人壽保險?Alea 專家幫到你! 即使你已經受保,我們仍然可以為你找到更適合你的計劃。

Alea持平的意見及個人化的服務,給你來自25+間保險公司、超過100種靈活選擇。如果你已經投保,在 Alea 轉換保單並毋須支付額外費用。立即取得免費報價比較你的選項,或預約電話諮詢,了解更多!

我們的專業保險顧問會儘快與你聯絡,解答你有關保險的所有問題!


本文由 Alea 獨立撰寫,未經贊助。文章僅提供參考資訊,不能取代專業意見。如需進一步的建議,請與專家聯絡。

alea
alea
alea
alea
Guides / Health Insurance Tips
alea
Fact Checked

Critical Illness Insurance in Hong Kong: Understand What You Need

Alea experts explain why critical illness insurance may be important.
Last Update:
4th May 2022
alea
Fact Checked
critical illness patient sitting on bed
critical illness patient sitting on bed
Alea experts explain why critical illness insurance may be important.
Last Update: 4th May 2022

No one wants to be sick, but a critical illness can happen to anyone.

At Alea, we have seen growing interest in critical illness insurance over the past few years. However, the diversity and complexity of critical illness insurance have set barriers for many to understand their needs.

Before the worst happens, perhaps it’s time to review your situation and brace your family with the right protection. Not sure where to start? Alea’s got you covered.


What is critical illness insurance?

Critical illness insurance (CI in short) is a risk management tool that pays out a lump sum upon diagnosis of a critical health condition of the insured person. Unlike traditional health insurance which can only repay out-of-pocket medical expenses, the payout amount from a CI plan can be used to cover both your medical and non-medical costs such as living expenses of the family, rents and mortgage, etc., depending on your needs. As such, it provides income to sustain the family’s livelihood during your prolonged work absence.

How are critical illnesses defined?

Definitions of “critical illnesses” differ from one insurer to another. On average, critical illness policies cover 60-70 named illnesses or conditions. Some common critical illnesses are:

Cancer, heart disease and cerebrovascular diseases are among the top killers in Hong Kong, responsible for 48.4% of death in 2020. Cancers, heart diseases and strokes are the central focus of protection and are covered in all plans, accounting for over 90% of claims.

*A waiting period of 1-3 years may apply for reimbursements of the same conditions.

Points to note in your coverage

As definition varies across plans and insurers, some minor or less common conditions may not be covered. For example, some plans may only allow a one-off claim or multiple claims of the same condition; some plans may not cover recurrent cancers; some plans may not cover cancer in situ (stage 0 cancer) or may set a time or monetary limit on these conditions.

Not to be overlooked if you have any pre-existing conditions or related medical history, insurers may impose exclusions or premium loadings. Insurers are more likely to reject your application if you have ever consulted a doctor or received tests for a health problem that may become critical later.

Act now! Get a free insurance consultation!

First name*
Last name*
Phone*
Email*

How does critical illness insurance work?

Over the policy term, the policyholder has to pay a monthly or yearly premium to the insurance company. Upon diagnosis of one of the defined critical illnesses, the insurer will pay out a lump sum living benefit to the insured person. On many occasions, the policyholder may also be the insured, but one can also take out critical illness insurance on a spouse, a parent or a child.

Critical illness protection can be sold either as a standalone policy or an attached rider to a life insurance policy. In Hong Kong, all insurance benefits are tax-free, meaning that the beneficiary can receive the coverage in full without deducting the tax.

Cash value

Cash value is a portion of the premium that earns interest in an insurance plan, only payable on policy termination or surrender. It often comes as a guarantee in critical illness policies.

On the other hand, dividends and bonuses may be provided by some insurers, but are usually non-guaranteed and can be withdrawn by the policyholder.

Types of critical illness insurance

Critical illness insurance products can be categorized as Term Critical Illness and Whole Life Critical Illness policies. Their major features in a glimpse:

Term CIWhole life CI
Duration of protection1/5/10/20 years or renewable until a certain ageLifelong or up to 100 years old
Payment termEvery year within the premium term with adjusted rate upon each renewalEvery year within the premium term of 10, 15, 20 or 25 years, up to a certain age and not be adjusted based on the insured’s attained age
PremiumLowerHigher
No. of claimsUsually single claim onlyMultiple claims; continuous protection after major critical illness claim
CoverageMay be limited to common critical illnesses onlyNew initiatives in covering more types of critical illnesses
Cash valueNoYes

Looking for critical illness insurance?

Why do I need critical illness insurance?

Hong Kong has the world’s second most expensive private healthcare system. While your health insurance may be sufficient to cover most common health issues, when it involves cancer, heart disease, stroke or other medical emergencies, treatment can easily overshoot your policy’s coverage and exhaust your savings. To make things worse, you may suffer a temporary or permanent loss of lose of income when you are forced out of your work for months or years as you go through treatments and recovery.

Critical illness insurance can be a great relief to maintain the quality of living of you and your dependents if you ever, touch wood, fall seriously ill. This sum of money may be key to safeguarding your finance by covering the insurmountable treatment costs and keeping the household running, particularly if you are the breadwinner of the family.

As the situation varies from one person to another, you may want to consider your financial situation, your family’s needs, does your employer provide cover for time off work due to sickness and if yes, for how long, the list goes on.

It is best to get insured when you are young and healthy, such that you can be covered for any critical health condition that arises in the future – at the same time minimizing the chance of having pre-existing conditions which will likely lead to exclusions by insurers.

Should I buy critical illness insurance for my child?

Parents always want the best for their children, and it is no exception as far as their health is concerned. Some insurance companies offer critical illness plans to unborn babies as early as 22 weeks of pregnancy, covering even congenital diseases. After subscribing to critical illness protection, children can enjoy comprehensive coverage from early in life, sometimes with additional assurance if any major illnesses arise before they come of age.

According to the Hong Kong Cancer Registry, about 180 children and adolescents aged 0-18 are diagnosed with cancer each year in Hong Kong, with the more common types being leukemia, lymphoma and brain and spinal tumors. A disturbing number of children suffer from other high-risk conditions like Kawasaki disease, asthma, diabetes, hemophilia and autistic spectrum disorder (ASD), some of which can have lifetime implications.

Taking care of an ill child is one of the most distressing tasks a parent can face. Critical illness protection and medical insurance are two must-haves for children, such that the best care can be delivered in these difficult times without putting extra financial burden on parents. Even if a parent has to leave work to look after the little one, a critical illness policy ensures more financial flexibility for the family.

How much coverage do I need?

As a rule of thumb, your critical illness coverage amount should be equivalent to at least 1-3 times your annual salary in order to cover the cost of living of you and your loved ones when you are out of your job for treatments.

Nevertheless, everyone has a different story and it is best to consult an experienced advisor before signing a policy.

Expert tip: More and more people prefer to split their investments into a critical illness policy, for their own use if they fall gravely ill, plus a life policy, to leave their family peace of mind in case the worst happens.

How much does critical illness insurance cost?

After your application, the insurer will assess your risk by asking you to fill in an underwriting questionnaire and sometimes undergo a body checkup (if your coverage exceeds a certain amount, e.g. US$500,000). In general, your premium will be determined based on the following factors:

  • Age*
  • Gender
  • Health
  • Smoking habit
  • Family medical history
  • Coverage needed

*Applicants aged over 60 or 65 may be rejected by insurers.

Alea advisors will guide you through your application process. We compare competitive plans from several top insurers, with level premiums — premiums that stay the same throughout the installment period of 5-25 years regardless of changes in your age or health condition, allowing you to get solid coverage without breaking the bank.

As an expert in critical illness insurance, Alea has all the latest product and market information you need. We go the extra mile to guide you through your options, explain everything and find the right plan for you.

Get in touch with an advisor today to receive a free, personalized critical illness insurance quote.

FAQs

What illnesses are covered by critical illness insurance?

Critical illness plans cover a total of 60-70 conditions on average, with cancer, heart disease and stroke being the most common ones. Other common conditions include dementia, organ failure, disabilities, multiple sclerosis and major organ transplant.

As specific coverage differs across insurers and plans, it is important to read through your policy carefully. Check with your insurer if you have any questions.

How much critical illness coverage do I need?

Your coverage should be equivalent to at least 1-3 times your annual salary in order to support the living of your family when you are away from work. Also consider treatment costs, daily expenses and your financial situation when estimating your coverage.

How is critical illness insurance different from life insurance?

The main distinction is that critical illness insurance is a living benefit, paid to the insured, but life insurance is a death benefit, paid to the beneficiary when the insured person passes away.

How is critical illness insurance different from medical insurance?

Regular health insurance reimburses your medical expenses and hospitalization costs, whereas critical illness insurance pays out a lump sum if you are diagnosed with a critical health condition defined by the policy. This benefit can be used for any medical or non-medical purposes as you desire.

How to claim critical illness insurance?

You will need to provide copies of your medical reports, medical certificates or laboratory reports to prove that you are diagnosed with a critical illness. You will also be asked to complete a claim form along with identification documents.

What will happen if I decide to surrender my policy?

You will lose the protection and any paid premiums if you decide to cancel your policy midway. However, you may be able to retrieve the dividend/bonus and accumulated interest, if any, from a whole life critical illness plan.

Act now! Get a free insurance consultation!

First name*
Last name*
Phone*
Email*

Looking for life or health insurance for yourself, your family or your team?

You already have an insurance policy? You could find a better plan!

Alea brings you choice, unbiased advice and outstanding service, with access to 100+ options from 30+ insurance companies. If you already have an insurance policy, switching insurance policies with Alea doesn’t cost you a thing.

Get a free comparison quote or schedule a chat.

An advisor will be in touch to answer all your questions!


This article was independently written by Alea and is not sponsored. It is informative only and not intended to be a substitute for professional advice and should never be relied upon for specific advice.