alea
alea
alea
alea
醫療保險貼士
alea
已核實

如何選擇適合你的懷孕保險及產科服務

準備在香港生育下一代?先了解你的產科服務及懷孕保險選擇,確保萬無一失。
最後更新:
2021年8月27日
alea
已核實
Asian couple holding and kissing a baby
Asian couple holding and kissing a baby
準備在香港生育下一代?先了解你的產科服務及懷孕保險選擇,確保萬無一失。
最後更新: 2021年8月27日

打算在香港生育下一代的你,又是否了解香港的相關費用和醫院選擇?雖然本地的醫療系統相當完善,但選項繁多、條款複雜,要認真研究可能也很花時間。生兒育女是人生大事,產前的準備、分娩的地方、方式和產後護理都值得慎重對待。香港的公私營醫療服務各有春秋,亦有人會選擇同時使用兩種服務。


香港生育率概況

香港的生育率在全球倒數第四, 2003年的生育率更跌至歷史新低,每1,000名婦女中只有901個嬰兒出生。 此後,這一比率略有上升,2019年的生育率為為每名婦女1.05個嬰兒,表示2019年香港只有5.3萬個嬰兒出生。香港是一個昂貴的城市,生活、教育、置業的成本都非常高,高昂的育兒成本很大程度上是港人不想生育的原因。

儘管香港政府在2018年10月宣布了一系列家庭友善措施,包括香港在職婦女產假由目前10周增加至14周,男士侍產假由現時3天增加至5天產假時間,但仍然比許多其他國家要少。

香港勞工處網站了解更多有關產假的規例。

香港的產前和產後護理費用是多少?

公營醫療機構 – 免費

持有有效香港身份證人士可獲政府提供的產前和產後護理補貼,服務大多數更直接由所在社區的母嬰健康院提供。

私營醫療機構 – 總費用可能在港幣$20,000至$40,000之間不等

不同私家醫院的產前和產後護理費用差別可以很大,費用主要根據醫院或診所所在位置及所提供服務而定。以中環的產科醫生為例,收費通常會比九龍區的醫生昂貴。而如果你的生育風險較高,且需要更多次的後續護理,費用相應也會更高。

孕婦通常需要在懷孕6到32週之間每4週看一次醫生;從懷孕32到36週增加至每2週一次;從36週到孩子出生之前則每週一次。大多數醫生會在每次檢查的時候進行超聲波檢查並收費(除非訂明費用已包含超聲波檢查)。單次產檢費用由港幣$600到$2,000不等,超聲波檢查的價格則在港幣$200到$950之間不等。基本檢本及問診以外,醫生亦會為你進行其他需要的檢查,例如常規尿液和血液檢查、OSCAR/Nuchal 檢查、NIFTY、拭子等。

同時選擇公私營懷孕生育服務

一些女性會選擇結合公共和私家服務,最常見的情況是在私家醫院進行產前檢查,然後到公立醫院分娩。同時選用公私營醫療服務可以確保孕婦在懷孕期間得到個人化的醫療服務,而且可以節省在私家醫院分娩的費用。

但是請注意,並非所有私人婦產科醫生都願意接收希望在公立醫院分娩的患者,因此建議你提前與主診醫生查詢。

香港的一些醫療機構為希望並用公私營服務的孕婦提供特定的服務套餐,醫療費用大概在港幣$20,000至$59,000之間不等。要了解更多信息,請參閱領康醫療的 Annerley 分娩計劃

在香港分娩要花多少錢?

任何手術包括分娩都有一定程度的風險,如果選擇在私家醫院分娩卻沒有投保,一旦發生事故,醫療費用可能遠遠超過原來的預算。根據 Healthy Matters 的調查研究,無併發症的自然分娩費用(標準房間水平)在港幣$70,000至100,000之間,急診剖腹產的費用很容易高達港幣$250,000。過去5年間,Alea 的懷孕保險專家團隊甚至曾遇過一些罕見的高度複雜的分娩手術費用可高至港幣$500,000。

如果你選擇在香港的公立醫院分娩,產科病房費用為每日港幣$120,外加$75的一次性入院費,可透過八達通卡支付(按此了解所有公眾收費 – 符合資格人士)。這些費用已包括所有開支,並涵蓋所有可能發生的併發症。不管是完全不用藥物進行分娩還是在麻醉下剖腹分娩,你都只須支付相同的費用。

欲了解更多有關在香港的懷孕服務選擇,歡迎購買《香港媽寶大全》

什麼是懷孕保險?

市面上的懷孕保險無法單獨購買,而必須附加於標準醫療保險上,與「住院」或「住院 + 門診」保險捆綁。懷孕保險主要賠償孕婦分娩以及產前和產後護理相關的費用。

懷孕保險保障範圍通常包括:

  • 產前/產後護理
  • 自然分娩
  • 醫療所需的剖腹分娩
  • 剖腹分娩 (非醫療所需)
  • 妊娠併發症
  • 疼痛管理費(麻醉費​​ + 藥費)
  • 住院兒科醫生費

一些更全面的計劃可能同時涵蓋:

  • 不孕治療
  • 新生兒先天不足和嬰兒出現意外情況的特殊護理
  • 產前維生素補充
  • 分娩培訓
  • 助產士服務

為你帶來更好的醫療保險體驗

我應該在香港購買懷孕保險嗎?

香港的懷孕和分娩相關私人醫療服務非常昂貴,因此建議您購買懷孕保險,一來可以將治療費用降至最低,二來在私家醫院服務上提供了更大選擇自由度,無需忍受等待時間漫長的公共醫療系統。而且,懷孕保險承保範圍也包括產後治療的費用,以確保母親能獲得最佳恢復,並為嬰兒提供最好的護理。

購買懷孕保險前,有什麼注意事項?

市面上的懷孕保險無法單獨購買,必須與「住院」或「住院 + 門診」保險捆綁。

此外,懷孕承保範圍始終有上限(細項賠償限額),適用於每年或每次懷孕週期,保險賠償額從港幣$20,000到$155,000不等。其中最全面的計劃可承保100%懷孕期間的所有併發症。

請留意懷孕保險通常設有「等待期」,在此期間你將不能報銷與生育有關的醫療開支。即使你在等待期結束前懷孕,計劃僅涵蓋在等待期後產生的醫療費用。

香港是否有免除等待期的懷孕保險?

香港目前沒有能免除等待期的「個人」懷孕保險計劃,但是部分大公司為僱員提供的團體保險方案或沒有規定等待期。

懷孕保險等待期平均為12個月。在該年度內,保單持有人將不能報銷懷孕及生育相關費用。即使你在等待期結束前懷孕,計劃僅涵蓋在等待期後產生的醫療費用。

懷孕等待期是什麽?

所有「個人」懷孕保險計劃都設定了「等待期」,通常為9到18個月不等。保單持有人不能在等待期内報銷的與懷孕及生育相關費用。

假如你在等待期間懷孕,也只可報銷等待期結束後出現的懷孕相關費用。一些在等待期間懷孕的婦女需要自行支付產前檢查及護理費用,到等待期過後才通過懷孕保險來支付分娩和產後的費用。

懷孕保險有哪些限制?

承保範圍取決於購買的保單類型,不同的保單之間差異可以很大。一般而言,本地保單賠償額約為港幣$16,000,而國際保單最高賠償額可達港幣$155,000。對於懷孕期間發生的併發症,部分保單也會設有特定條件,例如提供一般限額的雙倍,或者接受保單年度總限額以下的所有費用。與香港不少的保險計劃一樣,懷孕保險並不設統一標準,因此最好在投保前諮詢專家。

在懷孕後,我還應該購買孕婦保險嗎?

一般來說,懷孕時購買醫療保險並非理想選擇,因為將無法就懷孕期間產生的費用得到賠償。

然而,在懷孕後投保仍有一定好處:

  1. 某些特定計劃容許懷孕婦女得到「只限妊娠併發症」的全額賠償(前提是該併發症並非由投保前已有病症所引起)。

  2. 部分計劃下,保單持有人可以將初生嬰兒加入母親的現有保險計劃中,而同時享有「不計過往病歷」保障,即使BB患有先天性疾病也可以得到保障——額外購買兒童獨立保險計劃則不一定能涵蓋先天性疾病。


本文由 Alea 的懷孕保險專家審閱,團隊中有媽媽曾在香港懷孕生育嬰兒並使用公立和私家醫院服務,有向多間懷孕保險提供者索償的經歷。她們運用自己獨特的經驗,為不同家庭提供貼心的保險建議。

正考慮自己家人僱員購買醫療保險?Alea 專家幫到你!

Alea持平的意見及個人化的服務,給你來自20多間保險公司、超過100種靈活選擇。立即取得免費報價比較你的選項,或預約電話諮詢,了解更多!

我們的醫療保險顧問會儘快與你聯絡,解答你有關醫療保險的所有問題!


本文由 Alea 獨立撰寫,未經贊助。文章僅提供參考資訊,不能取代專業意見。如需進一步的建議,請與專家聯絡。

alea
alea
alea
alea
Health Insurance Tips
alea
Fact Checked

All You Need to Know About Maternity Insurance in Hong Kong

Planning to have a baby in Hong Kong? Here is your expert guide to pregnancy costs and maternity insurance in Hong Kong.
Last Update:
September 23, 2021
alea
Fact Checked
Asian couple holding and kissing a baby
Asian couple holding and kissing a baby
Planning to have a baby in Hong Kong? Here is your expert guide to pregnancy costs and maternity insurance in Hong Kong.
Last Update: September 23, 2021

If you plan to have a baby in Hong Kong, the local healthcare system is well equipped but can also create frustration if you don’t have expert information about costs and options. Deciding where to give birth in Hong Kong should be made after careful consideration. You can choose from public, private but also a mix of both health services for your pregnancy and birth care.


Key facts about pregnancy in Hong Kong

Did you know that Hong Kong has the fourth-lowest fertility rate in the world? In 2003, fertility reached a historic low of 901 babies for 1,000 women, which worried the government. The rate has since gone up a little at 1.12 babies per woman, meaning that 57,000 babies were born in Hong Kong in 2017. The cost of raising a child in Hong Kong largely explains this trend. In this expensive city, education and housing costs are a worry for most families.

Moreover, parental leaves are still below those of many other countries, despite a policy change announced in October 2018. In Hong Kong, maternity leave is now set at 14 weeks, while fathers are entitled to a 5-day paternity leave.

Learn more about parental leave from Hong Kong’s Labour Department.

How much do prenatal and postnatal care cost in Hong Kong?


Public sector — Free of charge.

If you hold an HKID, prenatal and postnatal care are entirely subsidized in Hong Kong’s public sector and most of the time directly provided by the Maternal and Child Health Centre of your Cluster.


Private sector — Total fees may vary between HK20,000 and HK$40,000.

Private prenatal and postnatal care costs vary tremendously. They are based on your obstetrician’s fees (for example, obstetricians in Kowloon are often less expensive than those based in Central) and whether your pregnancy is a high-risk one and requires more follow-ups.

Pregnant patients usually have appointments every 4 weeks from 6-32 weeks; every 2 weeks from 32-36 weeks and every week from 36 weeks until birth. Most doctors do an ultrasound at every appointment and charge for it (unless it is included in the consultation fee). Consultations vary from HK$600 to HK$2,000 and ultrasounds vary between HK$200 to HK$950. On top of these consultations, you will be charged for additional testing such as: routine urine and blood tests, OSCAR/Nuchal test, NIFTY, swab, etc.


Shared care or the half-half route — Reducing pregnancy and childbirth costs.

It is possible to combine public and private services during your pregnancy whereby you access some private prenatal services and give birth in a public hospital. But beware that not all private obstetricians accept patients who wish to deliver in a public hospital. This matter should be discussed in advance with your doctor.

That being said, some providers in Hong Kong offer specific packages for this so-called half and half route and medical fees may vary between HK$20,000 and HK$59,000. To learn more, see OT&P Healthcare (Annerley the midwives clinic).

How much does it cost to give birth in Hong Kong?

According to Healthy Matters, research in Hong Kong shows that costs for childbirth (standard room level) varies between HK$70,000 and $100,000 for an uncomplicated vaginal childbirth, and can easily go up to HK$250,000 for an emergency C-section. Uncertainty during childbirth means additional intervention may be needed, making it difficult to predict the total costs especially in case of serious complications. In the past five years, Alea’s team of maternity insurance experts have seen rare cases of highly complicated childbirths reach the amount of HK$500,000.

If you choose to give birth in a public hospital in Hong Kong, and you have a valid HKID, it will only be HK$120 per day with a HK$75 one-time administration fee. You can even pay by Octopus card. Most importantly, these nominal costs will also apply in case of childbirth complications.

For comprehensive details on pregnancy options, services, hospitals, costs and fees in Hong Kong, get the Hong Kong Maternity & Baby Book.

What is maternity insurance?

Maternity insurance is a special insurance benefit that is added to a standard medical plan. In other words, you cannot just buy maternity coverage. It is always bundled with "inpatient" coverage or "inpatient + outpatient" coverage. Pregnancy coverage aims at protecting women from the costs associated with childbirth, as well as prenatal and postnatal care.


Pregnancy insurance usually covers:

Some more comprehensive plans may also include:

  • Fertility treatments
  • Congenital birth deficiency and special care for newborns in case of unexpected problems
  • Prenatal vitamins
  • Childbirth classes
  • Extra midwife services

Need maternity insurance?

Should I get maternity insurance in Hong Kong?

Because private medical treatments associated with pregnancy and childbirth are extremely expensive in Hong Kong, it is recommended to get pregnancy insurance. A Hong Kong maternity plan will not only minimize the costs of treatment, but provide an alternative option for policy holders in choosing private hospitals as opposed to the public healthcare system which is currently being affected by disproportionate waiting times. The costs of postnatal treatments can also be covered to ensure optimal recovery of the mother and ensure that the best quality of care is provided to the infant.

What are the most important things to know about maternity / pregnancy insurance in Hong Kong?

There is currently no product with only maternity coverage on the market. Thereby, such option is either bundled or added as an inpatient coverage, or inpatient and outpatient coverage.

Moreover, remember that maternity coverage always has a cap (a sub-limit) and it will be applied per year or, per pregnancy. Maternity limits vary greatly from HK$20,000 to HK$155,000. This said, the best, most comprehensive maternity plans cover complications of pregnancy 100%.

It is also important to know that maternity insurance typically has a "waiting period" during which you cannot claim maternity-related expenses. If you become pregnant at the end of the waiting period, only maternity expenses that arise after the waiting period will be covered.

Is there any maternity insurance available in Hong Kong with no waiting period?

There are currently no "individual" maternity insurance plans in Hong Kong that waive the waiting period. However, some group insurance policies offered by larger firms to employees do not impose any waiting periods.

The average pregnancy waiting period is 12 months. During that first year, the policy holder cannot claim maternity-related expenses. If you become pregnant at the end of the waiting period, only maternity expenses that arises after the waiting period will be covered.

How do pregnancy waiting periods work?

All "individual" maternity insurance benefits impose a "waiting period", normally ranging from 9 to 18 months. The policyholder cannot claim maternity-related expenses incurred during the said period.

It is important to note that you are allowed to become pregnant during the waiting period but you will only be able to be reimbursed for pregnancy-related claims incurred after the waiting period has been completed. Some women who become pregnant during the waiting period pay their prenatal care out-of-pocket and use their pregnancy benefits to cover childbirth and postnatal costs.

What are the limits on maternity insurance?

Coverage limits depend on the type of policy purchased and they vary greatly. A general idea of the amount covered will be HK$16,000 under a local policy, and up to HK$155,000 under an international premium plan. Some policies will also have specific conditions in case of complications during pregnancy, with some doubling the normal limit and others covering all expenses until meeting the overall annual limit. As often with insurance in Hong Kong, it is not standardized so it’s best to speak with an expert.

Should I purchase medical insurance when I’m already pregnant?

Generally speaking, purchasing a medical insurance when pregnant is not the best option as the costs incurred during pregnancy will not be covered.

That being said, here are some secret advantages to purchasing maternity coverage when already pregnant:

  1. Under specific plans, an already pregnant women can be covered in full for "complications of pregnancy only" — provided that the complication does not arise from a pre-existing condition.

  2. Under some plans, the baby can be added to the mother’s existing policy with “medical history disregarded”. This means the baby can be covered for congenital disease and pre-existing conditions at birth. Conditions that wouldn’t necessarily be covered otherwise if you were to purchase a separate stand-alone child policy.


This article was reviewed by Alea’s team of maternity insurance experts: women who had babies in Hong Kong and experienced both public and private hospitals, as well as claims from different maternity insurance providers. Today they use their unique experience to best advise other families on their health insurance options.

Looking for health insurance for yourself, your family or your team?

Alea brings you choice, unbiased advice and personalized service, with access to 100+ options from 25 insurance companies. Receive a free comparison quote or schedule a chat with us today.

An advisor will be in touch to answer all your questions!


This article was independently written by Alea and is not sponsored. It is informative only and not intended to be a substitute for professional advice and should never be relied upon for specific advice.