alea
alea
alea
alea
醫療保險貼士
alea
已核實

公司及團體醫療保險:續保必備攻略

專家分享幾個簡單貼士,幫你順利為公司續保。
最後更新:
2021年11月25日
alea
已核實
professional man and woman smiling
professional man and woman smiling
專家分享幾個簡單貼士,幫你順利為公司續保。
最後更新: 2021年11月25日

雖然大多數保險公司會在續保日期前4至6週發出續保通知,但每家公司都應至少提前2至3個月開始考慮續保事宜。Alea 每週都會為大小公司提供有關團體醫療保險的建議。

為公司來年做好準備,充分利用這段時間來計劃員工的需求和公司預算。

如果你想了解其他有關保險續保的事宜,可以參閱這篇文章


提前計劃:至少2到3個月前開始準備

兩到三個月的時間足以評估你或你的團隊成員是否希望改變當前的員工健康福利。不妨花點時間與員工討論,了解他們對計劃的看法。

你可以分發調查或簡單地提出問題,例如他們對保障範圍的看法、是否面臨任何索償問題、索償處理的速度以及他們是否對保障有任何疑慮等。因為健康上的問題可能涉及個人私隠,最好通過電子郵件或匿名方式進行諮詢。

如果你沒有收到足夠的反饋,你亦可參考員工的索償紀錄,了解計劃的使用情況以及過去幾個月的大額索償。

評估市場上的其他選擇時,公司的索償紀錄和對員工褔利的反饋能大大幫助你的保險經紀人分析你的需要。

為你帶來更好的醫療保險體驗

為保費加價做好準備

如果你決定續保當前的醫療計劃,請記住保費很可能會增加,首要原因是全球共同面對的醫療通脹高企問題,而在香港,每年的醫療通脹率平均約為8%至10%,不容小覷。

你應該詢問您的保險顧問,公司的保險計劃採取的是經驗保費率還是群體保費率。規模較小的公司通常採用「群體保費率」(community rating),基於全體客戶的投資組合表現,而非公司的具體索償表現而計算續保保費,共同分擔風險。

大型企業一般則會採用「經驗保費率」(experience rating),即按公司的索償比率計算續保保費。換句話說,你的員工索償和大額索償越多,續保時的保費就越貴。一些公司會制定索償控制策略,以盡量減少保費加幅。

如果像許多公司一樣,自疫情以來,你的預算受到嚴格限制,你可能希望在續保時考慮以上因素,嘗試降低公司保費開支。

你的團體醫療保險是否真的符合你的需要?

如果你期望公司的團體醫療保險計劃提供更廣泛的保障範圍或更實惠的保費,不妨可以向多間保險公司查詢報價,同時考慮尋求不同保險經紀人的服務。

一方面,保險是一個競爭激烈的行業,有保險公司願意為贏得你的公司保單而下調保費也不足為奇,一切細節均可協商。

此外,與保險代理(agent)不同,經紀人(broker)可以與所有多間不同的保險公司建立合作關係。話雖如此,經紀人通常會與某些特定保險公司建立密切聯繫,並且可能能夠爭取到特別報價。

公司團體醫療保險:續保實用備忘清單

向員工了解他們對保障是否滿意

➜ 你可以在員工之間進行調查,通過電郵或在會議上討論公司的醫療褔利,集思廣益。

➜ 但醫療問題可能比較敏感,收集匿名回覆可能較為理想。


為保費上漲做好準備

➜ 與經紀人確認,公司的保險計劃所採用的是經驗保費率還是群體保費率。

➜ 留意香港每年的醫療通脹率約為8-10%。


精挑細選你的保險提供商……甚至是經紀人

香港的保險行業競爭激烈,選定計劃前值得了解其他保險公司是否能以較低的保費提供相同(甚至更佳)的保障。

你知道嗎? Alea 與香港最多的醫療保險公司合作——超過20家!我們與AXA安盛、Aetna、Allianz、April、Bupa保柏、Cigna信諾及Now Health等多間知名保險金司建立緊密合作關係,且擁有多年經驗。


聯繫 Alea,取得更多幫助 → 雖然保險經紀可以與所有保險公司合作,但他們通常會與某些保險公司建立更密切的關係,並且可能能夠爭取到特別報價。

想知道你應該向經紀人詢問什麼問題?歡迎查看我們的指南

常見問題

應何時開始準備續保公司醫保?

理想情況下,最好在保單到期前2至3個月開始張羅新一年度的公司醫保計劃。在此期間,你可以向員工收集意見,查看過往的索償紀錄,再決定公司是否需在來年更改醫療保險選擇。

如何為公司醫保續保?

一般情況下,你的保險經紀或保險公司會於保單到期前4至6個星期前與你聯絡,商討續保事宜以及保費和保障內容。如果你打算沿用現有計劃,只須按保險公司指示確認細則,簽訂新一年度保單。否則,建議你多留意市面上的其他保險選項,貨比三家,再下決定,選擇最符合你期望的保險公司、計劃乃至經紀人。

續保時可能會有什麼改變?

續保時很可能會出現保費加價的情況,因應每年度的醫療通脹作出保費調整。你亦可以向保險公司提出更改新一年度的保險需要,按企業的實際情況和預算調整計劃。

正考慮自己家人僱員購買醫療保險?Alea 專家幫到你!

Alea持平的意見及個人化的服務,給你來自20多間保險公司、超過100種靈活選擇。立即取得免費報價比較你的選項,或預約電話諮詢,了解更多!

我們的醫療保險顧問會儘快與你聯絡,解答你有關醫療保險的所有問題!


本文由 Alea 獨立撰寫,未經贊助。文章僅提供參考資訊,不能取代專業意見。如需進一步的建議,請與專家聯絡。

alea
alea
alea
alea
Health Insurance Tips
alea
Fact Checked

Your Guide to a Successful Group Health Insurance Renewal

Our team shares some expert tips to ensure a smooth renewal of your group medical plan.
Last Update:
August 17, 2021
alea
Fact Checked
professional man and woman smiling
professional man and woman smiling
Our team shares some expert tips to ensure a smooth renewal of your group medical plan.
Last Update: August 17, 2021

While most insurance providers issue their health insurance renewal notices 4 to 6 weeks before the renewal date, every company should start looking into their renewal at least 2 to 3 months in advance. At Alea, we advise companies, small or big, every week on their group medical benefits.

Here is to prepare for your company renewal and make the most of that time to anticipate needs, negotiations and budget considerations.


Plan ahead: at least 2 to 3 months beforehand

Two to three months is plenty of time to evaluate if there is anything you or your team members would want to change about your current employee health benefits. Take that time with your staff members to get their thoughts on the plan.

You can circulate a survey or simply ask questions such as how they feel about the level of coverage, if they have faced any claim issues, how fast the claims were processed, and if they have any concerns about the benefits. Consider doing this over email or anonymously as health and wellbeing can be very personal.

If you are not receiving enough feedback, one of your best indicators is the claim history as this will give you an idea of the plan’s utilization patterns and whether there were large claims in the past months.

Both the claim history and your company’s feedback on its employee health benefits are very valuable to your insurance broker when assessing your options on the market.

Looking for group health insurance?

Prepare for a premium increase

If you decide to renew your current plan, keep in mind that your premium will likely increase. First, it is important to know that high medical inflation rates have become a worldwide problem. In Hong Kong, medical inflation averages around 8 to 10% which is substantial.

Wondering why medical insurance is going through the roof in Hong Kong? Find out.

You should also ask your insurance advisor whether your plan is Experience Rated or Community Rated. Smaller companies are usually under "community-rated" terms which means that renewal rates are based on the entire client portfolio’s performance, not your company’s claims specifically. This mutualizes the risk.

Under large companies, almost all plans are "experience-rated" which entails that renewal rates are based on your company’s claim ratio. In other words, the more your employees claim and have large claims, the more expensive the premiums at renewal. Some companies put in place claim containment strategies to minimize premium inflation.

If like many companies, you are under strict budget constraints since the start of the pandemic, you may want to keep those factors in mind as your renewal approaches and anticipate different ways to lower your insurance premiums at renewal.

Is your group health plan optimized?

If you feel like your corporate plan could offer more extensive coverage or be less expensive, ask for quotes from different insurance providers and maybe consider soliciting the services of a different broker.

For one, this is a highly competitive market and there will likely be an insurer who is willing to lower premiums to win your business. Everything is negotiable.

Plus, different brokers work with different insurance providers. Unlike agents, brokers can work with all insurers and as many as they wish. That being said, brokers usually develop an affinity with certain insurance providers and may be able to make unique offers.

Group health insurance: practical cheat sheet

Check in with your employees, are they happy with the plan?

You can have them complete a survey, share a few questions by email or discuss health benefits in a meeting.

Keep in mind however that medical matters can be sensitive and that you may want to use a private feedback tool that preserves anonymity.


Be prepared for a premium increase

Ask your broker whether you plan is Experience Rated or Community Rated.

Keep in mind that annual medical inflation in Hong Kong is about 8-10%.


Shop around for insurance providers.. and even brokers!

This is a highly competitive market in Hong Kong and it is worth exploring whether other insurance providers can provide the same benefits (or more), for lower premiums.

Did you know? Alea works with the largest number of health insurance providers in Hong Kong, over 20! We have years of experience with names like AXA, Aetna, Allianz, April, Bupa, Cigna or Now Health.


Contact our team to know how we can help you. While insurance brokers can work with all insurers, they usually develop affinity with certain providers and may be able to make unique offers.


Wondering what questions you should ask your broker? Check out our guide!

Looking for health insurance for yourself, your family or your team?

Alea brings you choice, unbiased advice and personalized service, with access to 100+ options from 25 insurance companies. Receive a free comparison quote or schedule a chat with us today.

An advisor will be in touch to answer all your questions!


This article was independently written by Alea and is not sponsored. It is informative only and not intended to be a substitute for professional advice and should never be relied upon for specific advice.