alea
alea
alea
alea
醫療保險貼士
alea
經持牌顧問核實

公司及團體醫療保險:初創企業、中小企以至大型企業面對的問題

專家為你解答初創企業、中小企以至大型企業常遇到的團體醫療保險問題。
最後更新:
2022年9月29日
alea
經持牌顧問核實
公司管理層討論最佳公司醫療保險
公司管理層討論最佳公司醫療保險
專家為你解答初創企業、中小企以至大型企業常遇到的團體醫療保險問題。
最後更新: 2022年9月29日
目錄

關於 Alea
作為全港領先的醫療保險經紀,Alea 具有多年經驗處理複雜的保險事宜。我們可以幫你節省時間、金錢,給你來自超過25間保險公司的過100種選擇,更有值得信賴的專業顧問隨時為你解答問題。

想比較市面上的公司保險計劃?不要錯過我們的公司及團體醫保推薦


比較來自25+間保險公司的公司醫保

不論是初創企業、中小型企業乃至大型企業,提供周全的僱員醫療保險都是吸引人才重要的一環。香港擁有僅次於美國全球第二昂貴的私人醫療服務,所以醫療福利一向都是香港僱員最感興趣的員工福利之一。

Alea 每天為公司客戶作醫療保險建議,經常會收到來自客戶相同的問題。

如果你從事人力資源或公司業務管理,而且對團體醫療保險有興趣,我們在此整理了一份實用指南,幫你了解各種選項,為團隊選擇最適合的公司及團體醫療保險方案。

如果你正尋求續保選項,可瀏覽我們的公司續保攻略


1 – 僱員醫療保險與僱員補償保險有什麼區別?

與僱員補償保險(EC)不同,香港並沒有法律強制要求僱主為僱員購買醫療保險。僱主完全有權決定公司是否為其僱員和家屬提供醫療保險。

僱員賠償保險是僱主的法律責任而且價錢並不昂貴:

香港勞工法例規定,不論合約期、工作時數長短(全職或兼職)或工作地點,所有僱主必須為每位僱員投購僱員補償保險。保險範圍包括職業病、工傷和工作期間的死亡。如公司未能遵從該規定,最高可處罰款港幣$100,000及監禁2年。想了解有關僱員補償保險的更多信息,請按此處

公司醫療保險並非法律負任,而是吸引人才的僱員福利:

僱員醫療福利保障與工作無關的健康問題。儘管法律上僱主並沒有義務為員工提供相關保障,但醫療保險一向是不少僱員最感興趣的福利,特別是因為香港擁有僅次於美國全球第二昂貴的私人醫療服務。此外,香港的人員流動率(turnover)普遍很高,因此大公司普遍都會為僱員提供醫療保險,而不少初創企業/中小型企業也會利用這些福利來吸引人才,留住重要員工。

2 – 初創企業/中小型企業/大型企業的公司醫療保險:香港的標準做法是什麼?

絕大多數具競爭力的大公司、初創企業和中小型企業都希望吸引和留住人才,並會為僱員和家屬提供醫療保險。然而,不同公司保險的保障範圍和程度參差不齊,根據公司內部員工級別亦可能有所不同——你的職位越高,獲得的醫療福利可能越好。


a) 標準福利

香港大多數僱員醫療保險計劃提供以下類別的保障:

  • 住院
  • 門診
  • 牙科
  • 全球醫療護送

部分保險計劃會提供以下的額外保障:


b) 標準細項賠償限額

香港的醫療保險產品五花八門,投保人最關心的通常是計劃的費用與質素。選擇計劃時請留意,基本的僱員醫療保險很多時候都對每個醫療服務類別設有細項賠償限額,特別是當受益人使用香港的私家醫療服務時,十分容易超出限額。一旦醫療費用超出限額,僱員便須自付費用(又稱墊底費)、使用其他增值計劃/加保計劃,或者改到醫管局旗下公營部門尋求收費較低的治療。

全面的僱員醫療保障保費一般要高得多,但是通常可以賠償(無限額)。


c) 標準病房等級

在香港的私人醫療系統中,醫生收取的費用與醫院的病房類型有關。換句話說,房間越貴,其他費用也會越貴。你可以在此了解有關私家醫院房費的更多資訊。

選擇保險計劃時,僱主可按私家病房、半私家病房或普通病房等級選擇保障額。病房級別越低,保險費就越便宜。過去幾年的服務中,Alea 團隊留意到不少公司傾向為一般僱員選擇半私家級病房的保障額,而較全面的僱員福利則會提供私人病房私保障額。

3 – 誰可享用公司醫療保險?

一些公司選擇只為僱員投保,而另一些公司會同時保障僱員的家屬(配偶和子女,不包括祖父母/父母)。涵蓋僱員家屬與否完全取決於公司預算及人力資源政策。此外,保險公司並不會要求受保人提供結婚證明,所以僱員配偶是否必須已婚方能成為受養人同樣取決於公司內部政策。

4 – 初創企業和新公司能為1-2名員工購買團體醫療保險嗎?

大部分保險公司並不接受只有1-2名僱員的公司投購團體保險,在香港購買團體醫療保險的最低標準一般為3-5名員工。

假如你的公司規模剛剛起步,你可以選擇個別為每位僱員購買個人保險,或者考慮專為微型企業而設的方案。Alea 特別與一些保險公司合作,為只有1-2名僱員的公司制定團體醫療保險方案,詳情請聯絡我們。

即使僱員人數不足以取得任何保費折扣或「不計過往病歷」保障(medical history disregard,即承保投保前已有病症),但與個人保單相比,微型團體方案能夠提供更大的靈活度:

→ 你可以在保單年度內隨時增加或減少僱員人數,並按比例繳付或報銷保費。

因此以一年為單位,微型團體計劃比起個人保險計劃更具彈性,對於財務尚未穩定的初創企業尤其具吸引力。

5 - 公司的僱員人數如何影響我的選擇?

3-6名僱員7-10名僱員(最為常見)多於10名僱員
「不計過往病歷」保障*可能;但不常見且昂貴有 ➜ 且有進一步商議空間
折扣可能有 ➜ 且有進一步商議空間

*「不計過往病歷」保障:即免除保險計劃一般對「投保前已有病症」的限制,不針對任何個人病史或醫療紀錄,全面保障僱員及其家屬。

常見做法:香港的基本團體計劃對投保前已有病症的涵蓋範圍各有差異,請諮詢你的保險顧問再作了解。

6 – 僱員離職後還能否享用公司醫療保險?

轉工或離職時,僱員通常會自動失去醫療保險,但也有例外情況。你可以要求經紀人幫忙在團體醫療計劃中增設可轉移選項(或「可轉換保證」),讓離職的員工自行選擇將原有的團體保險改為個人保險計劃。

雖然上述情況並不常見,但選項對僱員——特別是身患「投保前已有病症」的員工有一定的吸引力。在此安排下,離職僱員不需要另覓保險公司重新簽訂保單,甚至面臨已有病症不受保障的困境。

7 - 如何比較僱員醫療保險?

我們明白醫療保險非常複雜,使一般消費者無從入手,所以 Alea 希望為你改變現狀。

作為醫療保險經紀,我們的專業保險顧問將細心聆聽你的需要,通過比較保柏信諾富衛安達超過25間合作保險公司報價,務求找到符合你預算和需求的團體醫保。我們的顧問精通英語、粵語、普通話和法語,隨時幫你解決疑難,提供專業持平的建議,讓你節省金錢和時間

另外,如果你的公司已經投保,我們可以為你免費評估現有的保單,分析目前的保障是否符合你的實際需求,盡可能降低成本。我們會提供個性化的服務,讓你從此高枕無憂。

立即與我們的保險顧問聯絡,了解更多你的選擇!

Alea 保險顧問服務

我們的專業保險顧問會隨即與你聯絡,幫你找到適合的保險。

*
*
電話*
電郵*

常見問題

什麼是公司醫療保險?

公司醫療保險是由公司或組織僱主向僱員提供的醫療保障,也是不少企業用以吸引及挽留人才的重要工具,一般每年續保。此類團體醫療保險除了提供基本的住院及門診保障,僱主亦可按需要選擇計劃的涵義範圍及等級,如添加牙科或視力保障等。

公司醫療保險是必須的嗎?

香港法例並沒有規定僱主必須為員工提供公司醫療保險,不同於旨在保障員工職業病或工傷的僱員補償保險(EC)。另一方面,在競爭激烈的求職市場,公司醫療保險仍然是不少人才夢寐以求的工作福利。

細公司可以買公司醫保嗎?

香港大部分的保險公司都要求公司保單上至少要有3至5名僱員,才會受理。因些初創公司或規模小的企業可以考慮為每名員工獨立購買醫療保險,或尋找特別為微型企業而設的保險計劃。然而,細公司人數有限,在與保險公司商議理想的醫療保障及保費時,很可能處於劣勢。

Alea 明白你的需要,並與一些保險公司合作提供專門為只有1至2名員工的公司而設的彈性公司醫保方案。想了解詳情?歡迎與我們聯絡

正考慮自己家人僱員購買醫療或人壽保險?Alea 專家幫到你! 即使你已經受保,我們仍然可以為你找到更適合你的計劃。

Alea持平的意見及個人化的服務,給你來自25+間保險公司、超過100種靈活選擇。如果你已經投保,在 Alea 轉換保單並毋須支付額外費用。立即取得免費報價比較你的選項,或預約電話諮詢,了解更多!

我們的專業保險顧問會儘快與你聯絡,解答你有關保險的所有問題!


本文由 Alea 獨立撰寫,未經贊助。文章僅提供參考資訊,不能取代專業意見。如需進一步的建議,請與專家聯絡。

alea
alea
alea
alea
Health Insurance Tips
alea
Fact Checked

Group Medical Insurance for Employees in Hong Kong: Startups, SMEs & Beyond

Our experts answer the most common questions about group health insurance for startups and SMEs.
Last Update:
September 23, 2021
alea
Fact Checked
Four employees planning Group health insurance for startups and SMEs
Four employees planning Group health insurance for startups and SMEs
Our experts answer the most common questions about group health insurance for startups and SMEs.
Last Update: September 23, 2021

From startups to small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs), providing health insurance to employees makes a huge difference and is an important attraction and retention tool. In Hong Kong, medical benefits are by far the number one benefit employees are most interested in. This is partly because Hong Kong has the second most expensive private health system in the world after the United States.

At Alea, we educate and advise companies every day about their health insurance options. Often we receive the same questions from clients, so let us share some of the most common ones.

If you are in HR or manage a business and wonder what your options are, here is a practical guide with tips to choose the right group medical plan.


1 - What’s the difference between Medical Insurance and Employee Compensation Insurance?

Unlike Employee Compensation Insurance (EC), health insurance is not legally mandatory in Hong Kong. It is fully up to the employer to decide whether the company will provide medical insurance to its employees and their dependents.

EC is legally required and inexpensive:

Employee compensation insurance covers every employee regardless of their length of services, working hours (full-time or part-time job) and place of employment. This insurance cover is for occupational disease, death in the course of employment and work injuries. If a company fails to comply, the employer can be penalized with a maximum fine of HK$100,000 and 2 years of imprisonment. To know more about employee compensation insurance, please click here.


Group Medical Insurance is not legally required but it is a key benefit to attract and keep staff:

Employee medical benefits cover the health of your employees for conditions that are not work-related. While there is no legal obligation to provide employee medical benefits, it is by far the number one benefit employees are interested in. Hong Kong has the second most expensive private health system in the world after the United States. Moreover, in Hong Kong staff turnover is generally quite high. This is why all large companies provide medical cover to their staff and startups/SMEs use these benefits to keep their staff and compete for the best candidates.

Looking for group health insurance?

2 - Medical insurance for Startups/SMEs: What’s standard practice in Hong Kong?

The vast majority of competitive startups and SMEs i.e. those looking to attract and retain employees, do provide medical coverage to their staff and dependents. That being said, the level and extent of coverage vary greatly and are often tiered according to staff levels within the company. In other words, the higher you are in the hierarchy, the better medical benefits you may have.


a) Standard benefits

In Hong Kong, most employee medical schemes provide the following categories of protection:

  • Hospital / Inpatient
  • Outpatient
  • Dental
  • Worldwide evacuation

Some of the additional benefits employers provide are:


b) Standard sub-limits

In Hong Kong, there is a wide range of medical benefits you can choose from and in the end, it all boils down to costs and quality. Beware that with basic employee medical benefits, there are many sub-limits per category of care that can easily be exceeded in Hong Kong’s private health sector. With such sub-limits, your employee will often have to pay out-of-pocket, use any top-up medical plan he/she holds, or seek services in the public sector where HA charges and fees are much lower.

With comprehensive employee medical benefits, premiums are much higher but your employees are generally fully covered when seeking services in the private health sector (no sub-limits).

Click here to learn more about private hospital charges in Hong Kong.


c) Standard room levels

One of the unique characteristics of the Hong Kong private medical system is that doctors’ fees are correlated to the hospital room type. In other words, the more expensive the room, the more expensive all the other fees. You can learn more about private hospital room fees here.

This is why you can choose employee medical benefits that are specific for private, semi-private or ward-level rooms. The less expensive the room level, the less expensive the insurance premiums. In the past years, the Alea team has witnessed a preference for semi-private room cover for basic employee cover and private room for comprehensive employee benefits.

3 - Who is covered under work medical insurance?

While some companies choose to cover employees only, others also cover dependents (spouse and children). Note that grandparents/parents cannot qualify as dependents. Whether you choose to cover dependents or not is a matter of cost and HR policy. Does a couple have to be married or not for the spouse to qualify as a dependent? It is determined by internal company policy. Your insurance provider will not ask for proof of marriage.

4 - Startups & new companies: Can I get a group medical plan for 1 or 2 employee(s) only?

Very few insurance providers accept to start group plans as of 1 or 2 employees. In fact, the standard minimum to start a medical plan in Hong Kong ranges between 3 to 5 employees.

When starting small, you can either get an individual plan per employee or look into your options for micro-enterprises. We at Alea work with some insurance providers that can start group medical plans as of 1 or 2 employees only.

While the number of employees is not large enough to get any premium discounts or medical history disregard (coverage of medical pre-existing conditions), these group medical plans provide greater flexibility than individual policies:

→ You can add/remove employees throughout the policy year and be charged/reimbursed pro-rata.

A micro group plan is therefore more flexible than an individual plan which locks coverage for one year. This is particularly attractive to start-ups that often face financial challenges.

5 - How does the number of employees influence my options?

3 to 6 employees7 to 10 employees (most common)More than 10 employees
Medical history disregard*Possible but rare and expensiveYesYes ➔ great margin of negotiation
DiscountPossibleYesYes ➔ great margin of negotiation

*Medical history disregard: This means that employees won't be discriminated against based on their pre-existing conditions. Employees and dependents are fully covered regardless of their conditions/medical history.

Common practice: Under basic group plans in Hong Kong, the rules around the coverage of pre-existing conditions are different and you should seek advice from your insurance advisor.

6 - Can employees keep their medical benefits when they leave?

When changing or switching jobs, employees usually automatically lose their medical coverage. Regardless, there are exceptions on the market. Your broker can help you add a portability option to your medical group plan (also known as "guarantee of conversion") through which an employee that leaves your company can elect to convert his/her group cover to individual cover.

Although this is rare, it is hugely attractive for employees, especially in cases of pre-existing conditions. This will save them from undergoing new underwriting with a new insurer and risking total exclusion of their pre-existing conditions under their new plan.

Looking for health insurance for yourself, your family or your team?

Alea brings you choice, unbiased advice and personalized service, with access to 100+ options from 25 insurance companies. Receive a free comparison quote or schedule a chat with us today.

An advisor will be in touch to answer all your questions!


This article was independently written by Alea and is not sponsored. It is informative only and not intended to be a substitute for professional advice and should never be relied upon for specific advice.