alea
alea
alea
alea
指南
alea
已核實

人壽保險:比較定期、終身壽險及危疾保險

覺得人壽保險太複雜?由Alea 為你一一解答疑問。
最後更新:
2021年10月7日
alea
已核實
人壽保險:為家人買一份安心。比較危疾、定期及終身人壽保險選擇。
人壽保險:為家人買一份安心。比較危疾、定期及終身人壽保險選擇。
覺得人壽保險太複雜?由Alea 為你一一解答疑問。
最後更新: 2021年10月7日

人生無常。我們無法預知未來,但要開始為未來作準備,從來不會太遲。

購買人壽保險是一項重要的決定,甚至可能是對未來10年、20年以上的承諾。尋找合適的壽險方案時,不免會困於深奧的術語和難解的問題,感覺無從下手。

定期壽險和終身壽險有什麼分別?人壽保險如何運作?保費是多少?哪一種保險適合我?

假如你也有過以上的疑問,不用擔心,Alea 將會為你一一解答。


人壽保險是什麼?

人壽保險(Life insurance)是一種風險管理工具,目的是在你(被保險人)不幸去世後為你的家人或任何指定受益人提供財務保障;而危疾保險則也可幫補你的診斷和治療費用上。

現時各大保險公司提供多元的人壽保險產品,分別服務不同的保額、保障範圍、年期、投資目標等需要,例如一些產品就包含儲蓄或投資成分,作為長期財富管理工具廣受歡迎。

人壽保險如何運作?

無論你選擇哪種人壽保險計劃,在保單期限內,你作為保單持有人(或投保人)(policyholder)必須支付每月或每年的保費,以換取在你(或受保人(insured))去世時,受益人(beneficiary)可獲支付一筆「身故賠償」;而危疾保險則會在確診危疾時發放一筆過賠償。

香港法例下,所有保險賠價都毋須扣稅,受益人可以獲得保單列明的全額保障。

通常保單持有人同時會是保單的被保險人,但少數時候,你也可以在對方同意的情況下為你的配偶、父母、子女甚至商業夥伴購買人壽保險,同時成為保單的受益人。

人壽保險主要持份者/人物關係:受益人、保單持有人、受保人邊個打邊個?

現金價值

現金價值 是指儲蓄人壽保險保費中可產生利息的一部分,退保時可被保單持有人提取。

以終身壽險或危疾保險為例,支付的保費將用於保障款項、保險公司的成本和利潤,其餘部分則會通過保險公司的投資賺取現金價值。相反,定期人壽保險通常不設現金價值。

人壽保險保費會去邊?定期和終身壽險有什麼分別?身故賠償和現金價值等。

冷靜期

保險業監管局規保險公局須在交付人壽保險單或冷靜期通知書後提供21天的冷靜期,以保障保單持有人的利益。期間,你可以反思自己的決定並取消保單以獲得全額退款。保險公司有責任向客戶明確說明這一權利。

人壽保險種類:比較危疾保險 vs. 定期 vs. 終身壽險

人壽保險產品大致可分為三大類:危疾保險、定期人壽保險和終身人壽保險,各針對不同的保障需要,設有不同的保費和條款。


危疾保險

香港擁有全球第二昂貴的私人醫療系統。你的醫療保險可能足以涵蓋大多數常見疾病,但在面臨癌症、器官衰竭或中風等嚴重疾病時,相關治療費用可能以十萬計,很可能超出一般醫療保險的保障範圍,普通家庭或難以負擔。患病期間,病人可能在幾個月內都無法工作或賺取任何收入,讓家庭財政雪上加霜。

顧名思義,危疾保險會在受保人患上保單涵蓋的嚴重疾病後提供一筆過款項,為受保人及家人提供經濟保障。賠償款項一來可用於應付龐大的醫療開支,也可幫補家庭的日常生活支出、租金、貸款等,讓你家人的生活質素得到保證。

每間保險公司對「危疾」或設有不同的定義,但平均會涵蓋50-60種常見的嚴重疾病。請注意,投保前已有病症可能會不獲承保或增加額外保費。

*同一疾病的賠償或設有1-3年的等待期


定期人壽保險

定期人壽保險只保障受保人在保單生效期內的死亡,年期通常為10年、20年或30年,大多數只能承保至特定年齡(如65歲)。保單年期結束時,保單持有人可以選擇延長保單或將其轉換為終身保單(保險公司或需再次承保)。隨年齡增長,每次續保時保費會大幅增長。

如果你決定在保單年期結束後中止你的保險,計劃到期就會自動失效,保單持有人亦無法獲得任何賠償金額或現金價值——除了保費退還Return of Premium/ROP)計劃會在保單期滿時退還所有已支付保費,但保費退還計劃保費會比一般保單高昂。

定期人壽保險一般沒有儲蓄成分,更適合面臨巨大財務風險人士,尤其是正償還大量貸款、按揭或債務人士。


終身人壽保險

終身壽險提供終身保障或至100歲,通常帶有儲蓄成份,保單持有人必須在特定供款年期(如5年至25年)內支付保費。有異於定期壽險,終身壽險的保費在簽訂保單時固定且有效期維持終身,毋須擔心到期安排。基於其積累現金價值的優點和長遠的保障,終身人壽保險的保費通常要貴得多,可能是定期壽險保費的4倍以上。


比較危疾保險、定期及終身人壽保險:

危疾保險定期人壽保險終身人壽保險
保障期限終身保單的10/20/30年年期終身
保障內容確診嚴重疾病後獲得一筆過賠償受保人身亡後受益人獲得身故賠償受保人身亡後受益人獲得身故賠償
保費- 最高
- 固定保費,於5-25年的供款年期內完成支付
- 較低
- 保單期內固定保費,於續保時或會按年齡增加

*30年年期可選擇保費退還(ROP)計劃
- 較高
- 固定保費,於5-25年的供款年期內完成支付
儲蓄成份有現金價值或/及紅利沒有有現金價值或/及紅利
特點適合需要終身危疾保障或儲蓄成份人士適合負債人士,如需要償還貸款、按揭或債務等。適合需要終身保障或儲蓄成份人士

我需要人壽保險嗎?

需要投保與否全取決於你對人生的規劃,譬如照顧家庭、償還債務、計劃退休等方面的需要。購買人壽保險最常見的原因是保障你的孩子和家人,為未來的不確定性作好準備。有保險公司會推出不同的人壽保險計劃,針對不同人生階段的特定財務需求,例如:

  • 債務
  • 按揭或租金
  • 汽車貸款
  • 殮葬費
  • 教育基金
  • 家屬生活費
  • 退休規劃

未來有無窮的可能性,伴隨而來的是無限的挑戰。追逐人生目標的路上,未雨綢繆事關重要。投購人壽保險最好趁着年輕、健康的時候,提早鎖定較低的保費,從此便可高枕無憂,無時無刻保護你的家人,無需擔心日後身體出現狀況,難以得到承保。


團體人壽保險

一些大公司會為員工提供團體人壽保險,特別是高級管理人員。僱主傾向選擇每年續保的定期人壽保險,此類計劃通常沒有儲蓄元素,一旦你轉換工作或辭職就會失效。因此,你可能需要做好兩手準備,讓保障獨立於你的就業狀況外。

不確定你的需要?立即預約免費諮詢,與 Alea 顧問討論你的情況!

正在尋找最合適的人壽保險?

我需要多少保額?

市面上充斥形形式式的人壽保險產品,大多數保險公司將人壽保險的最低保額設為美元$30,000-50,000(約港幣$230,000-390,000),通常不設最高限額,但當所需保額超過美元$500,000(約港幣$3,900,000)時,可能會要求提供更多證明文件或設有更多限制。

計算你所需保障金額的簡單方法:

1. 危疾保險:
至少為月薪的6-12倍 → 用於治療並確保患病期間家人能維持生活

2. 定期/終身人壽保險:
年薪的10-15倍 → 照顧家庭日常需要並供養子女至成人

3. 或僅適用於定期人壽保險:
與債務同等金額(按揭或貸款) → 讓你的家人無需承受巨額經濟負擔



為自己和家人決定壽險保額時,你也可以考慮下列因素。

家庭日常開支

購買人壽保險單的目的通常是確保家人能在你遭遇不測時仍能維持一定生活質素,對身為家庭經濟支柱者尤為重要。因此,首要考慮應圍繞家庭的日常所需,可能包括飲食、娛樂、住屋租金、水電費等;乘以家中子女(或受撫養人)人數以及撫養至成年的年數;減去你現有的儲蓄、投資、強積金和其他資產。

教育基金

生兒育女是一生的事。為人父母總希望給孩子最好的一切,除了照顧兒童日常生活需要和醫療費用之外,大學學費與其他課外活動都絕不便宜。如果打算在本地升讀大學,由教資會資助的大學學位課程每年就需要港幣$42,100;但如果你計劃送孩子到外國留學,費用可能會是5-10倍。

殮葬費用

預先安排身後事可大大為家人分憂,你更可將人壽保險的身故賠償部分用於準備葬禮。在香港安葬、火化、告別儀式、骨灰龕或墓地的總費用可介乎港幣$10,000-100,000,視乎所選擇的形式和規模而定。選擇在國外這樣做可能會貴得多。

債務負擔

估算保額時請將任何未償還債務納入計算中,萬一你無法完成還款而提早離場,留下來的保險賠償金也足以抵償剩餘的債務。

通脹影響

為未來作計劃時,千萬不要忽視通貨膨脹的潛在影響。過去 10 年間(2011-2020年),香港的消費物價指數(CPI)平均每年上漲3%,換句話說,今天的消費品平均價錢約比10年前多出30%。

通脹可能會影響日常生活、教育、住宿、醫療等方面的支出,所以計算所需保額時請不忘準備額外保額以應對將來的通脹壓力。


「分散投資」

近年來,Alea 留意到不少香港客戶對危疾保障產品越來越感興趣。也有不少人會選擇「分散投資」,同時投保危疾保險以及終身人壽保險,一方面可供自己在身患絕症時使用,另一方面,也能在不幸發生時讓家人安心。


試用投資者及理財教育委員會(投委會)提供的人壽保額計算機或與你的保險顧問詳談,更全面地分析你的需要。

了解你的人壽保險選擇

人壽保險保費價錢

提交申請後,保險公司會要求你填寫一份投保表格,部分個案或會被要求進行身體檢查(當保額超過美元$500,000)來評估風險。以下是一些可能影響保險公司決定保費的因素:

  • 年齡
  • 性別
  • 健康狀況
  • 吸煙或非吸煙人士
  • 肥胖
  • 生活方式
  • 家族病史
  • 所需保障範圍

Alea 顧問將全程為你導航,確保順利完成申請手續。我們與多間本地及國際保險公司合作,提供固定保費人壽保險計劃——不論你的年紀或健康狀況如何變化,保單有效期內保費會保持不變。

確認保險費用最直接的方法就是向保險經紀人獲得免費報價,再進一步比較承保範圍和保費,幫助你作出明智的選擇。

作為人壽保險專家,Alea 擁有你需要的所有最新產品和市場動向。我們為你細心比較多種產品,隨時為你解答疑難,幫你找到最貼合你需要的計劃。立即聯繫專業保險顧問,了解你的選擇。

常見問題

1. 人壽保險有什麼用?

人壽保險是一種風險管理工具,目的是在家庭經濟支柱不幸身故時為受撫養人提供財務保障。投保人透過支付保費,讓保險公司於受保人去世時向指定受益人提供一筆過的「身故賠償」。

2. 我需要多少人壽保險保額?

專家建議:

  • 定期/終身人壽保險:年薪的10-15倍
  • 危疾保險:至少應為6-12個月之月薪

計算理想保額時,你應該考慮家庭的日常開支、子女的教育費用以及任何未償還債務,且可能被未來的通脹影響。

3. 購買人壽保險的最佳時機是什麼時候?

保費會根據你在投保時的年齡和醫療狀況而定。趁着你還年輕、健康時購買人壽保險可以為你鎖定較低的保費,兼且提供終身保障。亦有人會在人生的重要里程碑時考慮購買人壽保險,像是結婚、組建家庭或購入物業時。

4. 投保人壽保險時需要進行身體檢查嗎?

大多數情況下並不需要。你只需填妥保險公司的投保表格;除非你的保額超過美元$500,000或保險公司所定金額。

5. 誰可以成為我的人壽保險受益人?

保險公司通常對你指定的受益人數量沒有限制,受益人應該是與你有所謂「保險利益」的人:即你的死亡會讓他們遭受嚴重經濟損失。受益人一般可以是你的配偶、子女、父母(部分計劃),甚至是保險信託(慈善機構或企業)。

6. 受益人如何申請人壽保單賠償?

申請身故賠償時,受益人須向保險公司提供受保人的死亡證明書正本、保單、已填妥的索償表格、雙方的身份證明文件和與死者的關係證明文件。請向你的保險公司查詢或仔細查閱你的保單,確認其他索償要求。

7. 我可以退保嗎?

如果你決定中途取消人壽保險單,你將失去保障和任何已支付的保費。危疾和終身壽險或容許保單持有人取回累積的現金價值。

8. 人壽保險有任何不保事項嗎?

人壽保險一般設有1-2年的自殺條款,其間受保人如因自殺身亡,將無法獲得保險賠償。部分保險公司會將高危活動和非法行為列為不保事項。

正考慮購買 人壽保險?

Alea持平的意見及個人化的服務,給你多種靈活選擇。立即預約電話諮詢,了解更多!

我們的保險顧問會儘快與你聯絡,解答你有關人壽保險的所有問題!


本文由 Alea 獨立撰寫,未經贊助。文章僅提供參考資訊,不能取代專業意見。如需進一步的建議,請與專家聯絡。

alea
alea
alea
alea
Guides
alea
Fact Checked

Life Insurance in Hong Kong: How to Choose the Right Plan?

Find it confusing to navigate your life insurance options? Alea answers all your questions about life insurance!
Last Update:
October 7, 2021
alea
Fact Checked
Life insurance: How to choose the best policy? Compare critical illness insurance, term vs. whole life insurance
Life insurance: How to choose the best policy? Compare critical illness insurance, term vs. whole life insurance
Find it confusing to navigate your life insurance options? Alea answers all your questions about life insurance!
Last Update: October 7, 2021

Life is unpredictable. We can’t always plan ahead for every challenge in life, but it’s never too late to start preparing.

Purchasing life insurance is an important decision, especially when you think of it as a commitment for the next 10 or 20 years, or even more. When looking for a policy, you may find yourself drowned in a sea of jargons and questions: What’s the difference between term and whole life policies? How does life insurance work? How much does it cost? Which one is right for me? Look no further: as Alea is here to answer all your questions about life insurance.


What is life insurance?

Life insurance is a risk management tool that aims to provide financial security for your family members or any named beneficiary upon the unfortunate event that you (the insured person) pass away; or with critical illness insurance, for (your) diagnosis and treatment costs as well.

Over time, insurance providers have developed an array of life insurance products with different levels of cover, benefit terms, financial goals, etc. For example, some life insurance products contain a saving or investment component and have gained popularity as long-term wealth management tools.

How does life insurance work?

Whichever life insurance plan you opt for, over the policy term, you as the policyholder have to pay a monthly or annual premium in exchange for a lump sum known as “death benefit” paid to your beneficiary/beneficiaries when you/the insured person dies; whereas critical illness plans comprise a lump sum benefit upon diagnosis of a critical condition.

In Hong Kong, all insurance benefits are tax-free, meaning that the beneficiary can receive the coverage in full without deducting the tax.

Oftentimes the policyholder may also be the insured, but one can also take out life insurance on a spouse, a parent, a child or even a business partner with their consent, at the same time be the policy’s beneficiary.

explain life insurance parties involved: policyholder, beneficiary, insured, insurance company

Cash value

Cash value is a portion of the premium that earns interest in a life insurance plan and can be withdrawn by the policyholder.

Take a whole life policy or a critical illness policy as an example, the premium paid will go to the insurance benefit, the insurance company’s costs and profits, and the remaining part to the cash values, earned via the insurance company’s investments. Contrarily, a term plan normally has no cash value.

life insurance premiums, death benefit and cash value, term vs. critical illness vs. whole life insurance

Cooling-off period

In Hong Kong, the Insurance Authority requires insurance companies to provide a 21-day cooling-off period upon delivery of the life insurance policy or the Cooling-off Notice, as a protection of the policyholder’s interests. During this period, you can reflect on your decision and cancel the policy for a full refund. The insurer bears the responsibility to clearly explain this right to clients.

Types of life insurance: Critical illness vs. Term vs. Whole life policies

Life insurance can be categorized into three main types: critical illness insurance, term life insurance and whole life insurance. They serve different purposes and come with different costs and conditions.


Critical illness insurance

Hong Kong has the world’s second most expensive private healthcare system. While your health insurance may be able to get you covered for most common conditions, in the face of a life-threatening condition like cancer, organ failure or stroke, treatment can cost millions and easily exceed your health insurance’s coverage. More distressing, one will likely be unable to work or earn any income for months in case of severe illness — and this is where critical illness insurance kicks in.

As its name suggests, critical illness insurance secures you financially with a lump sum upon diagnosis of a serious health condition. Such coverage safeguards your family’s quality of living by providing financial support for daily living expenses, rents, mortgage payments and so on, during a battle against terminal illnesses.

Every insurance company may have different definitions for “critical illnesses” but on average they cover 50-60 named illnesses or conditions. Note that any pre-existing conditions may lead to exclusions or premium loadings.

*A waiting period of 1-3 years may apply for reimbursements for the same conditions


Term life insurance

Term life insurance covers the death of the insured only for the premium paying term, usually 10 years, 20 years or 30 years, and most can only cover up to a certain age, e.g. 65 years old. As the policy term ends, the policyholder has the option to extend it or convert it to a whole life policy (underwriting needed). You can expect premiums to increase exponentially at each renewal as you get older.

If you decide to discontinue your coverage after the term ends, the plan simply expires with no retrievable value. An exception is Return of Premium (ROP) plans, a subcategory of term life insurance that gives you the option to refund the total amount of premiums paid when you outlive the policy, but they are attached with higher premiums than regular term policies.

Term life insurance in general does not have a savings component and is more suitable for those who are exposed to huge financial risks, having to repay large sums of mortgage, loans or debts, for instance.


Whole life insurance

Whole life policies offer lifelong protection, or sometimes protection until 100 years old. They often come with a savings element and a fixed premium that must be paid within an optional installment period (e.g. 5 years to 25 years). Unlike term policies, premiums of whole life policies stay the same regardless of your age. Owing to its ability to accumulate cash value and its prolonged coverage, whole life insurance typically has much pricier premiums that can be 4 or more times that of term life insurance.


Compare critical illness insurance, term and whole life insurance at a glance:

Critical illness insuranceTerm life insuranceWhole life insurance
Period of coverageLifetimeWithin the term of 10/20/30 yearsLifetime
Insurance benefitLump-sum benefit paid to the insured upon diagnosis of a critical illnessDeath benefit paid to beneficiariesDeath benefit paid to beneficiaries
Premiums- Highest
- Level premium, paid within an installment period of 5-25 years
- Lower
- Level premiums, which may increase with age at end of term / policy conversion

*30 years plan with Return of Premium (ROP) option
- Higher
- Level premium paid within an installment period of 5-25 years
Savings elementYes, with additional cash values/dividendsNoYes, with additional cash values/dividends
Suitable forThose who want lifelong coverage for critical illness treatment or a savings componentThose with liabilities, i.e. loans, mortgage, debts to repayThose who want lifelong coverage or a savings component

Do you need life insurance?

Whether you need to be insured or not all comes down to your life planning: whether you have a family to support, have any liabilities to repay, have any plans for retirement, and the list goes on. The most common reason to get life insurance is to protect your children or loved ones against uncertainties. Some insurers offer specific life insurance plans to cater to specific financial needs through different life episodes, such as:

  • Debts
  • Mortgage or rent
  • Car loan
  • Funeral cost
  • Education fund
  • Living expenses of dependents
  • Retirement planning

Different stages of life bring different needs and goals. You never know what the future holds. While it is never too late to take action and get valuable protection, it is recommended to get insured when you are still young and healthy. That way you can lock in a lower premium, get a peace of mind and protect your loved ones in case any health condition arises, making you uninsurable in the future.


Group life insurance

Some large companies would also offer group life insurance to their employees, particularly for senior management staff. Most employers favor term life policies that are renewable yearly. Such plans generally have no savings element and will terminate if you switch or quit your job. Therefore, it is important to get your own insurance, independent of your employment status.

Not sure about what you need? Schedule a free consultation to discuss your situation with an Alea advisor!

Looking for life insurance?

How much life insurance coverage do you need?

Life insurance products come in all shapes and sizes. Most insurers set a minimum life insurance coverage at US$30,000-50,000, whereas there is generally no maximum, but more requirements may apply when the amount goes beyond US$500,000.

Rationales to assess your coverage amount:

1. Critical illness insurance:
At least 6-12 times your monthly salary → for treatment costs and to sustain living of the family while you are away from your job due to illnesses

2. Term / Whole life insurance:
10-15 times your annual income → to cover your family’s expenses in your absence until your children become financially independent

3. Or specifically for term life insurance:
The same amount as your liability (mortgage or loans) → to lift the economic burden off your family



Here are some key factors you may want to pay attention to when choosing one for yourself or your family.

Living expense of dependents

The purpose of purchasing a life insurance policy is often to assure your family’s quality of living should anything happen to you, especially if your family depends heavily on your income. So first and foremost you should take into account how much your family will need to make ends meet dealing with everyday household expenses and carrying on with their lives in comfort. This includes groceries, entertainment, rents, clothes, etc.; multiplied by the number of children (or dependents) in the family and the number of years to support or until they become adults; subtracting your existing savings, investments, MPF and other assets.


Education fund

Raising children is a long-term commitment and you will want to give them all the best things in life. On top of their childcare, daily living and medical expenses, college tuition — let alone other extra-curricular activities — are a heavy financial burden for a family. A UGC-funded university degree program in Hong Kong costs HK$42,100 per year, but the number can shoot up to 5-10 times that if you plan to send your kids abroad for studies.


Funeral expenses

Making after-death arrangements in advance can be a great relief for your family. Part of your death benefit can be used towards funeral preparation. Burial, cremation, parting ritual, crematorium or cemetery costs in Hong Kong can range from HK$10,000-100,000 or more in total, depending on the styles and scales chosen. Doing so abroad can be significantly more expensive.


Liabilities to repay

Include any outstanding liabilities when determining your coverage, such that mortgages, debts, and loans can be settled even when you are no longer there to support the family.


Inflation

Last but not least, bear in mind the possible impacts of inflations when you draft the blueprint of your future. Over the past 10 years (2011-2020), Hong Kong has seen an average 3% increase per year in the Consumer Price Index (CPI), a widely adopted indicator of inflation, in other words, consumer products today on average cost about 30% more than those 10 years ago!

It is always better to brace yourself with an extra amount for future inflation when calculating costs of living, education, accommodation, medical services and so forth.


The “split” approach

We at Alea have seen growing interests in critical illness products in Hong Kong in recent years. It is also common for people to split their investments into a critical illness policy, for their own use in case of a terminal condition, plus a whole life policy, to leave peace of mind to their family if the unfortunate happens.


Try the Life Protection Coverage Calculator by the Investor and Financial Education Council to estimate your ideal life insurance cover. Talk to your advisor for a more thorough analysis of your needs.

Find the best life insurance policy

How much do life insurance premiums cost?

After you apply, your insurer will assess your risk by asking you to fill in an underwriting questionnaire and sometimes undergo a body checkup (if your coverage exceeds a certain amount, e.g. US$500,000). Below are some factors that may affect how insurance companies determine your premiums:

  • Age
  • Gender
  • Health
  • Smoker or non-smoker
  • Obesity
  • Lifestyle
  • Family medical history
  • Coverage needed

Alea advisors will guide you through your application process. We offer plans with level premiums — premiums that stay the same throughout the life of the policy, regardless of changes in your age or health condition.

The best way to find out the cost of a life insurance policy is to get a free quote from your insurance broker. This will help you compare coverage and premiums, and make the right choice.

As an expert in life insurance, Alea has all the latest product and market information you need. We go the extra mile to guide you through your options and find the right plan, tailored for you. Get in touch with an advisor today to compare different plans in Hong Kong.

FAQs

1. What is the use of life insurance?

Life insurance is a risk management tool that aims to provide financial security for the family upon the loss of a “breadwinner”. By paying for a premium over one’s lifetime, the insurance company will provide a lump sum known as death benefit to the named beneficiary when the insured passes away.

2. How much life insurance coverage do I need?

Experts suggest multiplying your annual income by 10-15 times to estimate your cover amount for term or whole life plans; and at least 6-12 times your monthly salary for critical illness plans. When calculating your ideal coverage, you should consider the living expense of your dependents, education fees for your children, as well as any liabilities of the family, susceptible to future inflations.

3. When is the best time to buy life insurance?

Premiums increase with your age and with medical conditions. As a rule of thumb, purchasing a life policy when you are still young and healthy can lock you in better rates for lifelong protection. Some people consider buying life insurance when they reach important milestones in life — getting married, starting a family or buying a home.

4. Do I need to undergo a medical assessment to apply for life insurance?

Most of the time there is no medical assessment but an underwriting questionnaire is required to apply for a life insurance plan. The exception is when your coverage exceeds a certain amount, i.e. US$500,000.

5. Who can be the beneficiary of my life insurance policy?

Insurers usually have no limit on the number of beneficiaries you name, but your beneficiaries should be people with whom you have “insurable interests” (people who would suffer financially if you die). They can be your spouse, children, sometimes your parents, or even a trust (a charity or a business).

6. How can the beneficiaries claim a life insurance policy?

To make a death claim, the beneficiaries will need to provide the original death certificate of the insured, the life insurance policy document, a completed claim form, along with identification documents and proof of relationship with the insured. Please check your insurer’s policy for any additional documents required.

7. What happens if I want to surrender my policy?

You will lose the protection and any paid premiums if you decide to cancel your life insurance policy. For critical illness and whole life policies, you may be able to retrieve the accumulated cash value.

Looking for life insurance?

Alea brings you choice, unbiased advice and personalized service. Schedule a chat with us today to learn more.

An advisor will be in touch to answer all your questions!


This article was independently written by Alea and is not sponsored. It is informative only and not intended to be a substitute for professional advice and should never be relied upon for specific advice.