alea
alea
alea
alea
醫療保險貼士
alea
經持牌顧問核實

【墊底費】善用墊底費和共同保險,減低醫療保險開支

專家解構保險常用術語,教你做個精明消費者。
最後更新:
2022年9月14日
alea
經持牌顧問核實
picture of strawberry cake
picture of strawberry cake
專家解構保險常用術語,教你做個精明消費者。
最後更新: 2022年9月14日
目錄

關於 Alea
作為全港領先的醫療保險經紀,Alea 具有多年經驗處理複雜的保險事宜。我們可以幫你節省時間、金錢,給你來自超過25間保險公司的過100種選擇,更有值得信賴的專業顧問隨時為你解答問題。


想搞清楚墊底費和共同保費是什麼?跟我們的專家談談!

想方設法想降低醫療保費?Alea 專家為你解構保險術語,拆解墊底費、共同保險兩者如何影響你的保費,教你將每一分錢用得其所。健康不應成為你的負擔,我們相信每個人都能找到理想的保障方案。


醫療保險墊底費是什麼?有什麼用?

墊底費(deductible)= 自付費/自付額,是投保人同意在保單年度內自行承擔的費用,金額經投保人和保險公司預先同意。每次使用醫療服務時,你須先自行付帳,保險公司只會賠償扣除墊底費後多出的費用。墊底費一般定於$0-10,000美元,按逐人逐年計算。也有少部分情況,墊底費會按每個家庭,而非每位家庭成員計算。

墊底費通常僅適用於住院及手術部分,我們也認為是最好的安排。高價的醫療項目大多都需以住院保障賠償,設定固定的自付金額比起一定百分比(%)的共同保險能給你更大透明度,更方便預算開支。

Alea 傾向建議只適用於住院保障的墊底費選擇,如此便不會影響你的門診保障。與住院治療不同,因為普通科及專科醫生門診等常規醫療服務較常用,且普遍涉及較小金額,如果再設下墊底費,你可能結果需要自行支付大部分不超過賠償門檻的醫療開支。

醫療保險共同保險是什麼?

共同保險是讓容許你和保險公司分攤成本的另一種方式。有別於墊底費,共同保險適用於每一筆醫療開支,預先設下一定百分比,每次由受保人和保險公司分攤費用,所以每一宗索償中你所需要支付的金額會有不同。以香港普遍的情況以及國際醫療保險計劃來說,共同保險百分比多介乎10-30%。

共同保險更常見於門診保障,受保人只須自行支付門診費用的一小部分,便可減低每年支付的醫療保險保費。

Alea 保險顧問認為相比起住院保障,共同保險更適合配合門診保障使用。香港的私人醫療系統以昂貴昭着,價格位列全球第二,住院共同保險可能意味着難以估量的龐大醫療費用,好處不大。

給你更好的醫療保險體驗

如何善用墊底費和共同保險管理你的保險計劃?

簡單解釋完墊底費和共同保險的定義,不如讓我們用以下的例子進一步說明兩者的應用。可意留意一下,部分保險產品容許投保人同時選擇墊底費和共同保險的選項。


例子 1:住院墊底費

墊底費:港幣$40,000(僅住院項目)

陳先生的孩子需要進行耳部手術並植入中耳導管,收費港幣$100,000(按本港私家醫院收費估算)。

➜ 陳先生須支付$40,000,其餘$60,000會由保險公司承擔。一旦小朋友於保單年度內再次需要住院接受治療,因為已到達本年度墊底費上限,你亦無須再支付任何墊底費。


例子 2:門診共同保險

共同保險:20%(僅門診項目)

李小姐向皮膚科專科醫生求診,收費港幣$1,000

➜ 李小姐須支付診金的20% = $200

此後不論再次求診同一皮膚科醫生,抑或使用其他專科醫生門診,李小姐都必須支付醫療費用的20%。


例子 3:住院墊底費 + 門診共同保險

墊底費:港幣$40,000(住院) + 共同保險:20%(門診)

同一保單年度內,張先生不幸受傷手臂骨折,手術治療收費港幣$120,000;而且,張先生需要定時到專業風濕病科覆診,控制他的長期病狼瘡。5次面診每次診症收費$1,200。

➜ 張先生需自行支付其中$40,000的手術費,剩餘$80,000將由保險公司承擔;至於5次風濕病科醫生診金,他每次求診需支付當中20%,即$240,5次診症共可獲賠償$4,800。

總計,張先生須自付$41,200 (40,000+1,200),而可獲賠$84,800 (80,000+4,800)。

Alea 保險顧問服務

我們的專業保險顧問會隨即與你聯絡,幫你找到適合的保險。

*
*
電話*
電郵*

墊底費和共同保險有什麼好處?

在醫療保險計劃使用墊底費和/或共同保險的主要好處是可以減低保費

你可參考以下的一些示例,了解墊底費和共同保險的選項對國際醫療保險計劃(不包括美國)保費的影響。

受保人單身男性(28歲)夫婦(35歲),育有兩名子女(3歲和7歲)夫婦(50歲)
計劃類型門診及住院(私家房)門診及住院(私家房)僅住院(私家房)
墊底費(美元)$1,500(住院)$1,500(住院)$1,500(住院)
共同保險20%(門診)20%(門診)/
每年保費(美元)$2,900-5,200$10,700-20,000$5,000-10,000
每年保費(美元)(如無墊底費或共同保險)$4,000-6,000$14,500-22,800$6,200-11,000

使用墊底費和共同保險的醫療保險有什麼壞處?

墊底費和共同保險可能會影響你使用醫療服務的意願,因為你不得不自行承擔部分費用,而延遲治療可能不是你的最佳選擇。

要在投保後再更改你的墊底費和共同保險選項或會比較困難,有些保險公司會視墊底費和共同保險為計劃升級,會要求對投保人重新核保,你可能需要再次填寫醫療問卷並簽署新的保單條款,甚至可能會出現新增的已有病症、不保事項和附加費用。

墊底費和共同保險適用於公司醫保嗎?

墊底費和共同保險在公司及團體醫療保險中並不常見,但確有部分僱主會選擇提供附有共同保險或共付額的門診保障。其中以本地計劃較常會用到共付額,此類計劃會對多個治療類別設有細項賠償限額。使用服務前記得查清楚保險計劃的共付額要求是否適用於所有醫療服務提供者,還是共適用於保險公司之直接支付網絡。

在購買個人醫療保險時,你可自由選擇是否使用墊底費或共同保險,與僱員醫療福利不同,你可以根據自己的個人需要和預算選擇最佳方案。

常見問題

墊底費有什麼用?

醫療保險的墊底費對保險公司和消費者雙方都是節省成本的機制。同意自行支付一部分的醫療開支後,你可大幅減少每年的醫療保費,而保險公司亦只會支付超出自付額的費用。

墊底費和共同保險哪個更好?

Alea 保險專家認為使用住院保障墊底費和門診保障共同保險是慳保費的好方法。

門診治療包括不少常用的低價項目,而住院治療雖較少用,但費用通常更昂貴。善用墊底費和共同保險便可以大幅減低你的醫療保險開支,同時萬一出現住院醫療需要,也無須自行承擔大額醫療費用。

共同保險比率應該選多少?

老生常談,你的保險選擇往往取決於你的個人需要和預算。較高的共同保險比率可大為減低醫療保費,但當你使用醫療服務時便需要自行支付較多醫療收費,反之亦然,較低的共同保險往往會收取較高的保費。

未到墊底費金額會怎樣?

任何未到墊底費金額的費用將由你自費支付。保險公司只會賠償超出年度自付額的醫療費用。

我們的專業保險顧問會隨即與你聯絡,幫你找到適合的保險。

*
*
電話*
電郵*

正考慮自己家人僱員購買醫療或人壽保險?Alea 專家幫到你! 即使你已經受保,我們仍然可以為你找到更適合你的計劃。

Alea持平的意見及個人化的服務,給你來自25+間保險公司、超過100種靈活選擇。如果你已經投保,在 Alea 轉換保單並毋須支付額外費用。立即取得免費報價比較你的選項,或預約電話諮詢,了解更多!

我們的專業保險顧問會儘快與你聯絡,解答你有關保險的所有問題!


本文由 Alea 獨立撰寫,未經贊助。文章僅提供參考資訊,不能取代專業意見。如需進一步的建議,請與專家聯絡。

alea
alea
alea
alea
Health Insurance Tips
alea
Fact Checked

Lower Your Health Insurance Cost with Deductibles and Coinsurance

We cut through the insurance jargon to explain how deductibles and coinsurance can help.
Last Update:
September 23, 2021
alea
Fact Checked
picture of strawberry cake
picture of strawberry cake
We cut through the insurance jargon to explain how deductibles and coinsurance can help.
Last Update: September 23, 2021

If you wonder how to lower your health insurance premium, read on. Our Alea experts cut through the insurance jargon and explain everything about deductible, coinsurance and how they affect premiums. Protecting your health should not be a burden and we believe there are solutions for every situation.


What is a health insurance deductible and how does it work?

A deductible is a pre-established amount of money you agree to pay during your policy year. The deductible is fixed in advance. It means that you will pay first and your insurer will then pay for your healthcare expenses once you have reached that amount. It usually ranges between US$0 and US$10,000 and applies per person and policy year. In rare instances, the deductible is per family and not per family member.

In most cases, a deductible applies to the inpatient and surgical part only of you medical coverage, which we at Alea think is best. High ticket items are usually billed under inpatient benefits and a fixed amount that you have to pay out-of-pocket gives you better price predictability and transparency than a % (coinsurance).

Alea tends to favor deductible options applied to inpatient benefits only as it won't impact your outpatient coverage. Because routine medical care (GP, specialist consultations) are smaller bills and inpatient care is rarer, you might end up paying most of your medical bills before reaching the deductible limit.

What is health insurance coinsurance?

Coinsurance is another cost-sharing mechanism between you and the insurer. Unlike deductibles, coinsurance applies to each medical bill. It is a pre-established percentage, so the amount will vary from one claim to another. To sum up, you will have to pay a certain percentage of the bill every time. In Hong Kong and as with international medical plans, co-insurance generally varies between 10 to 30%.

Coinsurance options are more common under outpatient benefits. With coinsurance, you pay a lower premium while paying just a small part of your medical outpatient expenses.

We at Alea believe that coinsurance is usually more attractive under outpatient benefits as opposed to inpatient benefits. In Hong Kong where private healthcare is the second most expensive in the world, inpatient coinsurance can entail substantial, unpredictable amounts — not really in your favor.

Want a better insurance experience?

How do deductibles and coinsurance apply to your insurance policy?

Here are a few examples to better understand how deductible and coinsurance mechanisms work. Please note that some insurance products allow you to choose both a deductible and coinsurance option simultaneously.


Example 1: Inpatient deductible

HK$40,000 deductible on inpatient benefits only.

Your child needs ear surgery and has grommets inserted for HK$100,000 (approx. cost in HK private sector).

You pay HK$40,000 and your insurance provider pays HK$60,000. Should your child need inpatient care again during the year, you will not have to pay any deductible this time as you have exhausted the amount.


Example 2: Outpatient coinsurance

Coinsurance: 20% on outpatient benefits only.

You see a dermatologist and the consultation fee is HK$1,000. You will have to pay 20% of the amount: HK$200.

Should you wish to see the same dermatologist again or another doctor with a different specialty, you will always have to pay 20% of the medical bill.


Example 3: Inpatient deductible + Outpatient coinsurance

Deductible = HK$40,000 for inpatient + Coinsurance: 20% for outpatient

In the same policy year, you break your arm for which you need surgery that costs HK$120,000 and you see a rheumatologist 5 times for the management of your chronic condition, lupus. Each consultation costs HK$1,200.

For your arm surgery, you pay HK$40,000 from your own pocket and your insurance provider pays the remaining HK$80,000. As for your 5 rheumatologist consultations, you have to pay 20% of each bill which amounts to HK$240 per visit. You are reimbursed HK$4,800 for these 5 visits.

In total, you had to pay HK$41,200 (40,000+1,200) out-of-pocket and you were reimbursed HK$84,800 (80,000+4,800).

What are the advantages of adding a deductible and coinsurance to your health insurance plan?

The main advantage of adding a deductible and/or coinsurance to your plan is to lower your premiums.

Here are a few examples of the impact of deductible and coinsurance on the annual premium for international plans with worldwide cover excluding the USA.

ProfileSingle man, 28 years oldCouple, 35 years old, with 2 kids aged 3 and 7Couple, 50 years old
Type of planOutpatient and inpatient (private room)Outpatient and inpatient (private room)Inpatient only (private room)
Deductible (US$)1,500 (on inpatient)1,500 (on inpatient)1,500 (on inpatient)
Coinsurance20% (on outpatient)20% (on outpatient)/
Annual Premium (US$)From 2,900 to 5,200From 10,700 to 20,000From 5,000 to 10,000
Annual premium (US$ without deductible or coinsurance)From 4,000 to 6,000From 14,500 to 22,800From 6,200 to 11,000

What are the disadvantages of adding deductibles and coinsurance?

Deductibles or coinsurance may deter you from getting medical care since you will have to pay for part of it and postponing treatments may not be in your best interest.

It may be difficult to change your deductible and coinsurance options in the future as some insurers consider these changes as plan upgrades that entail new underwriting. It means you may have to complete a new medical questionnaire and expose yourself to new terms and conditions such as pre-existing condition exclusion or surcharge.

Can I have a deductible or coinsurance under my work coverage?

It is less likely to have a deductible or coinsurance under your employee medical benefits. That being said, some employers in Hong Kong provide outpatient benefits with coinsurance or co-pay. Co-pay is most often seen in local medical plans that have several sub-limits of reimbursement per category of care. It is important to check whether the co-pay requirement applies to all medical providers or only the ones that are not part of the insurer’s direct billing network.

When choosing personal medical coverage, you have the freedom to choose whether or not you want a deductible or coinsurance. Unlike employee medical benefits, you can purchase what corresponds best to your specific needs and budget.

Looking for health insurance for yourself, your family or your team?

Alea brings you choice, unbiased advice and personalized service, with access to 100+ options from 25 insurance companies. Receive a free comparison quote or schedule a chat with us today.

An advisor will be in touch to answer all your questions!


This article was independently written by Alea and is not sponsored. It is informative only and not intended to be a substitute for professional advice and should never be relied upon for specific advice.