alea
alea
alea
alea
醫療保險貼士
alea
已核實

香港BB保險全方位指南

了解BB醫療保險的投保方法和保障範圍,為你的初生嬰兒選擇最好的BB保險。
最後更新:
2021年9月23日
alea
已核實
newborn baby
newborn baby
了解BB醫療保險的投保方法和保障範圍,為你的初生嬰兒選擇最好的BB保險。
最後更新: 2021年9月23日

恭喜你懷上了小寶寶!經過多個月來的準備和期待,相信各位準爸媽都想為BB準備最好的醫療保健方案。醫療保險能保障BB出生後所有醫療相關的開支。Alea團隊擁有豐富的經驗,能幫助不同家庭找到最合適的BB醫療保險方案。


自願醫療保險計劃對初生嬰兒保障的不足

香港的公共醫療系統以其優質高效的醫療服務而聞名,合資格香港居民可以以相宜的價錢享受高質素的醫療服務。但同時由於公共醫療服務的收費偏低,加上公眾對服務需求龐大,公共醫療服務機構正面臨日益嚴峻的挑戰,長期處於資源緊絀的狀況,例如人手長期嚴重短缺和輪候時間過長等。

為減輕公立醫院的負擔,政府於2019年4月推出了一項新的自願醫療保險計劃 (VHIS)(下稱自願醫保),重點之一是為初生嬰兒提供終身醫療保險的保障。雖然自願醫保可能看起來很吸引(保費可低至每年港幣$2,000),但卻對先天性疾病等事項施加了嚴格的限制。

想了解更多有關自願醫保的資訊,歡迎閱讀以下文章:https://alea.care/resources/everything-you-need-to-know-about-the-vhis

需要BB保臉?

如何在香港投保初生嬰兒醫療保險?

各家保險公司均設有不同的條款,為初生嬰兒選擇醫療保險時,請務必仔細閱讀條款細則。有些保險公司會將你的初生子女免費納入你的保險計劃當中,而其他則會要求增加你的年度保費。此外,一些保險公司會對通過試管受孕的初生嬰兒施加特殊限制。

你可以通過以下其中一個方式將你的初生寶寶納入你的醫療保險當中:


1. 如果你本人持有個人的國際醫療保險

方案一: 最理想的情況是你的國際醫療保險保障範圍已涵蓋生育,即使你或寶寶出現與分娩相關的併發症,你們同樣能得到保障。你還可以在寶寶出生後30-90天內(每間保險公司設有不同期限),將他/她納入自己(母親)的保單內,便能確保寶寶在出生日起獲得保障。這種情況下,寶寶將被列入「不計過往病歷」保障(即免除投保前已有病症)的保單中,並有可能承保(如有)其先天性疾病

方案二: 其中一位父母有投保國際醫療保險,而該計劃生效超過12個月,但生育不在其保障範圍之內。某些保險公司會提供「不計過往病歷」保障,讓寶寶從出生起納入你個人的醫療保險內。這種情況下,保險公司可能會要求你按比例繳付額外保費(從寶寶出生日起至父母的保單更新日)。需要注意的是,大部分保險公司規定,寶寶的保障項目須與父母相同。

不少父母或會疑惑,懷孕保險會否保障初生嬰兒護理的開支,這是按情況而定的。一般而言,假如初生嬰兒護理屬於醫院婦產套餐內的服務,保險就能涵蓋得到。不過,並非所有保險公司都會報銷不在醫院孕婦套餐內的服務,例如醫院兒科醫生診症服務。雖然有些保險計劃(如April International)會將寶寶出院前的醫生費用納為保障項目,但其他保險公司(如信諾)則要求先把寶寶加入你的保單中,才可以報銷其出生後的醫療開支。

最後,如果在私家醫院分娩時出現併發症,醫療費用很容易超過一般保險上限的港幣$300,000,所以為保障自己,請務必仔細閱讀保險細則。絕大多數懷孕保險都會全額保障母親和寶寶在生產後出現的併發症(高達保險的年度總限額之100%),直到出院為止。


2. 如果你持有公司為你投保的醫療保險

香港多數大公司都會為員工及其家屬提供醫療保險,你可以向人事部核實你的保險是否涵蓋對子女的保障。如果你的公司保險的確保障你的子女,那麼你可以及後才把子女加入你的保單。

雖然你的僱主會負責你子女的保費,但須注意子女的先天性疾病通常不在保障範圍之內,而且醫療費用亦可能超越保額。此外,當你離職後,你的子女也會失去保障。尤其當你的子女(如)患有先天性疾病或正在接受治療,一旦失去保險的保障,可能會增加突如其來的財政負擔。


3. 如果你未有投保任何醫療保險

在香港,很少保險公司會為兒童提供獨立的保險計劃,子女的醫療費用通常會被納入父母購買的保單當中,由父母其中一人作為保單持有人。兒童的獨立保險計劃通常由初生適用到18歲,但任何在保單生效日期前出現的症狀(投保前已有病症)都會被排除在外或增加附加費。此外,先天性疾病通常不受保。現時,只有April、信諾和AXA提供兒童的獨立保險計劃。

歡迎閱讀有關香港兒童醫療保險的專家指南,了解更多關於兒童獨立保險計劃的資訊。

香港的初生嬰兒保險費用是多少?

大多數保險公司為兒童提供的獨立保險計保費不會因兒童的年齡而改變(不論是初生嬰兒或青少年都是一樣)。為初生至18歲兒童而設的全面的獨立兒童保險計劃年度保費一般介乎於港幣$15,000至$35,000不等,涵蓋住院和門診保障,可全額報銷在香港私家醫院的醫療開支。

歡迎聯絡我們的專家團隊了解更多詳情。

分娩前的注意事項


1. 盡快選定保險計劃

建議你在分娩前開始物色涵蓋懷孕及生育的保險計劃,確保寶寶在出生日起就得到全面的保障,避免出現額外開支,而且兒科醫生的費用通常不予報銷。

如上所述,你可以在懷孕期間甚至分娩之後為寶寶投保。


2. 選擇合適的保險

為寶寶選擇合適的醫療保險至關重要,讓寶寶得到高質素的醫療保障之餘,也可以確保(如)患有先天性疾病或其他疾病的寶寶獲得最好的治療和護理,毋須因為顧慮收費而輪候公立醫院服務,而可以直接選擇服務水平更高的私家醫院。

要將寶寶加入保單內,通常需要向保險公司提交寶寶的出生證明,並填妥有關表格。因應不同保險公司的程序,申請期限可能有所不同:例如Passport Card要求在寶寶出生後3個月內提交申請,而ALC則要求在30天內完成申請。


3. 試管嬰兒

一些保險公司對通過試管受孕的嬰兒設置特殊限制,可能不會保障一些投保前已有病症或妊娠併發症。因此建議你與顧問核實你的保險合同,查閱條款詳情。

以下是有關香港生育保險的資訊:https://alea.care/resources/expert-guide-maternity-insurance-hong-kong/

BB保險比較

「究竟BB醫療保險邊間好?」想必是很多新手父母的疑問。Alea團隊與超過25間保險公司合作,隨時為你提供有關BB保險的專業意見,比較不同的保險方案,為你的「摯愛」選擇最合適的保險方案,提供最全面的保障。

正考慮自己家人僱員購買醫療保險?Alea 專家幫到你!

Alea持平的意見及個人化的服務,給你來自20多間保險公司、超過100種靈活選擇。立即取得免費報價比較你的選項,或預約電話諮詢,了解更多!

我們的醫療保險顧問會儘快與你聯絡,解答你有關醫療保險的所有問題!


本文由 Alea 獨立撰寫,未經贊助。文章僅提供參考資訊,不能取代專業意見。如需進一步的建議,請與專家聯絡。

alea
alea
alea
alea
Health Insurance Tips
alea
Fact Checked

Newborn Baby Health Insurance in Hong Kong: All You Need to Know

Want to get your newborn baby covered? Here is your complete guide to picking the best insurance policy for them.
Last Update:
September 23, 2021
alea
Fact Checked
newborn baby
newborn baby
Want to get your newborn baby covered? Here is your complete guide to picking the best insurance policy for them.
Last Update: September 23, 2021

You’re expecting. Congratulations! Now what? You probably want to ensure your newborn child gets the best healthcare possible. Health insurance coverage will protect you against all the costs associated with your child’s medical treatments as soon as they are born. Our team at Alea has a wealth of experience in guiding families through the process of choosing the right baby health insurance, and these are some of the options.


Newborn health coverage via the VHIS option is limited

The Hong Kong public healthcare system is known for its high quality and efficient medical services that can be used by eligible residents at a very low fee. Since services and procedures are offered at such low cost, public medical providers face a number of growing challenges such as overcrowding and extensive waiting times.

To ease a massive burden on public hospitals, the government unveiled in April 2019 a new Voluntary Health Insurance Scheme (VHIS) that is meant to provide lifelong health coverage for newborns. While VHIS plans may come across as appealing (premiums can be as low as HK$2,000 per year), they impose serious limits such as the exclusion of congenital illnesses.

Here is everything you need to know about VHIS.

Need newborn insurance?

How to get newborn health insurance coverage in Hong Kong?

When it comes to obtaining health coverage for a newborn, make sure you read the fine print as all insurance providers operate differently. Some will allow the inclusions of your infant in your insurance plan for free while others will increase the annual premium you pay. Plus, some insurers impose special restrictions on newborns that were conceived through IVF.

Adding your newborn to a health insurance coverage can happen in one of the following ways:


1) If you already have personal international health insurance

First option, you are covered for maternity in your international health insurance coverage. This is the most desirable situation for you and your baby as you will be covered in case of complications related to childbirth. You can also ensure that your baby is covered from his date of birth onwards by adding him/her to the mother’s policy within 30 to 90 days (the deadline varies per insurer) after the birth. In this case, your child is added to the policy with MHD (medical history disregard) with a possibility to cover congenital conditions. This is extremely important as it means your child is covered for pre-existing conditions at birth.

Second option, one of the parents has an international plan that has been effective for more than 12 months without a maternity option. With some insurers, you can add your infant to your health insurance plan with MHD (medical history disregard) as well — that is your child can be added from his/her first date of birth or at a pro-rata premium (from the date of birth to the parent’s policy renewal date). Take note that for most insurers, your child needs to be covered under the exact same benefits as the parent.

Many parents wonder whether maternity benefits cover newborn care. This varies a lot. A good rule of thumb is that all baby care that is part of your Maternity Hospital Package is covered by maternity benefits. However, not all insurers will reimburse items that are not included in your hospital package. For example, the pediatrician’s hospital consultations. While some plans, such as April International, cover these doctor fees under maternity benefits and until the baby is discharged from the hospital, other products, such as Cigna Global, require that you add the child to your policy in order to claim pediatrician fees following childbirth.

Lastly, complications of childbirth can easily escalate to HK$300,000+ in Hong Kong private hospitals. It is important to double-check the cover for this. The vast majority of maternity benefits cover complications of pregnancy in full (100% up to your overall annual limit) for both mother and child and this until discharge.


2) If you have health insurance through work

Most large companies in Hong Kong provide health coverage to employees and their dependents. You should always check with your HR whether children are covered. If indeed your employee's health insurance covers kids, then you can add your child to your policy within a certain delay.

While your employer pays the premium for your child, it is important to note that congenital conditions are usually excluded and that the plan’s benefits may be insufficient. Furthermore, if you leave your job, your child will lose coverage. This can be a problem if your child has pre-existing conditions or is undergoing medical treatment.


3) What if I don’t have any health insurance?

In Hong Kong, there are very few insurance providers that offer stand-alone child coverage — an insurance product that is purchased by one of the parents to cover the child only. While one parent is the policy holder, the child’s health and medical expenses are covered. Stand-alone child policies are available for children from birth to 18 years old, but pre-existing medical conditions will come into play, meaning that any conditions that occurred before the starting date of the policy may be excluded or give rise to a premium surcharge. Moreover, congenital conditions are generally excluded. Only April, Cigna and AXA provide this option.

You can learn more about stand-alone child policy premiums by reading our Expert Guide to Children Health Insurance in Hong Kong.

How much does newborn insurance cost in Hong Kong?

It is important to know that for most insurance providers, premiums for stand-alone child policies don’t really vary depending on the age of the child (being a newborn or teenager). Annual premiums for comprehensive stand-alone policies for children from birth to 18 vary between HK$15,000 and HK$35,000 for inpatient and outpatient coverage that would reimburse you in full (100%) for private medical fees in Hong Kong.

Contact our expert team for more information.

What to keep in mind before childbirth


1) Look for your insurance as soon as possible

It is always a good idea to start looking for maternity coverage before you give birth so that your newborn baby is covered from Day 1. It’s never nice to see unexpected expenses because pediatrician fees are not reimbursed.

As you can see, there are multiple options to insure your baby during pregnancy or even after birth.


2) Choosing the right insurance

Choosing carefully your newborn insurance is essential. It enables your baby to receive high-quality protection as soon as he is born. It ensures that he can get the best healthcare if he suffers from congenital conditions or other medical concerns. It also gives you options in choosing private hospitals, in addition to public ones where waiting times are much higher.

To add a newborn to a policy, you generally need to submit the birth certificate to the insurer or fill in a form. Application period can vary from an insurer to another: Passport Card requests to be informed within three months from birth whereas ALC requests 30 days.


3) What about IVF babies?

Some insurers have special restrictions on children who were conceived through IVF. They may not grant MHD (medical history disregard) or cover complications of pregnancy. It is always best to verify the terms of your insurance contract with an advisor.

Here is everything you need to know about maternity insurance in Hong Kong.

Looking for health insurance for yourself, your family or your team?

Alea brings you choice, unbiased advice and personalized service, with access to 100+ options from 25 insurance companies. Receive a free comparison quote or schedule a chat with us today.

An advisor will be in touch to answer all your questions!


This article was independently written by Alea and is not sponsored. It is informative only and not intended to be a substitute for professional advice and should never be relied upon for specific advice.