alea
alea
alea
alea
醫療保險貼士
alea
經持牌顧問核實

【移民保險】醫保、危疾、人壽保單應該 cut 或留?一文看各國醫療福利

移民對你的保險有什麼影響?當地有什麼醫療選擇?
最後更新:
2022年10月24日
alea
經持牌顧問核實
man carrying two children outside a suburban house with a white picket fence
man carrying two children outside a suburban house with a white picket fence
移民對你的保險有什麼影響?當地有什麼醫療選擇?
最後更新: 2022年10月24日
目錄

關於 Alea

Alea 是出色的香港保險經紀公司,對複雜的保險市場具多年經驗。我們會幫你節省時間和金錢,比較來自超過25間保險公司的100多款保險產品,包你找到最合適的選項。我們的保險顧問會隨時為你解答任何問題!


計劃離港移民?過去幾年,不少香港人舉家移民到英國、加拿大、澳洲、台灣等地。出發之前,物色新家、辦理子女入學、安排寄送物品——準備迎接新生活之餘,你處理好在香港的一切了嗎?

收拾行囊、處理移民事宜時,也不要忘記處理好各種保險。在香港買的危疾保險要如何處理?醫療保險能繼續在當地使用嗎?本文會帶你了解移民前後的保險安排,幫你在出發前為自己和家人做好萬全準備。


移民時如何處理醫療保險?

要帶着醫療保險移民,必須先考慮兩個關鍵問題。首先,你的醫保計劃可在你的移居地提供保障嗎?其次,你認識當地的醫療系統嗎?

你可查閱自己的保單條款,了解醫療保險計劃的有效範圍是否包括海外或你的移居地。以下是你要注意的要點:

  1. 通知保險公司你準備移民。保險公司可就移居地的保障提出建議,並提供可行的保單轉移選項(如有),指示所需手續。不過須注意,即使保險公司可在移居地提供保障,也可能考慮你在當地的國籍身而拒絕繼續承保。在這種情況下,保險公司可能會短暫提供保障,直至你在當地找到合適的替代方案為止。
  2. 檢視保單的保障地理範圍,除非是僅限本地的計劃,保障地理範圍一般分為:亞洲(包括澳洲和紐西蘭)、全球(不包括美國),以及全球(包括美國)。
    a. 屬保障地理範圍內:你的保單可能仍然有效至下一個續保日期(請向保險公司查詢)。
    b. 非保障地理範圍內:你的保單通常只可提供28至30天的域外緊急醫療保障。部分保單更對域外緊急醫療保障設有限額。
  3. 檢視保單的條款及細則。即使保障在移居地適用,亦可能設有一定限制,例如使用時限為365天。請諮詢你的保險公司或經紀。
  4. 檢視公司團體醫療保單有否提供可轉移選項。離職任職公司前,可以研究一下公司的團體醫保有沒有可轉移選項(portability option)或「可轉換保證」,以便你轉換成同一保險公司提供的個人保險計劃,在離職後無須重新核保也能保有同等保障,繼續涵蓋任何已有病症。你可以向公司的人事部門或保險經紀了解你的選擇。

醫療保險合約期大多為一年或12個月。如果你的移居地屬保障地理範圍外,你可以選擇在保單到期時不再續保,「好來好去」,你和保險公司都沒有義務繼續支付或使用該計劃。但如果你嘗試以停止繳付保費的方式使保單失效,保險公司將有權根據合約向你追討欠款。若你未能支付保費,將來如果申請同一計劃,保險公司可能因此就你的任何已有病症「加 loading」,甚至拒絕承保。

Alea 保險顧問服務

需要保險顧問幫手?

了解移居地的醫療系統及服務選擇

無論你手上的保險計劃能否提供在移居地的保障,你都應該先熟悉當地的醫療系統以及保健服務。

我們為你整理了一些香港人首選移民地點的資訊,包括澳洲、英國、加拿大、新加坡和台灣的醫療福利政策,希望你可以作為參考。

*以下資訊最後更新於2022年8月29日。由於移民政策可能會有修改,在使用服務之前,最好查看當局的最新公告。如有不準確或錯漏之處,本網站概不負責。

澳洲提供全民醫療保險計劃

澳洲政府提供 Medicare 全民醫療保險計劃。

凡澳洲永久居民或申請永久居留權人士,均可登記使用 Medicare 全民醫保,以醫保卡 Medicare card 使用 Medicare 服務。登記後你即可使用電子 Medicare card,實體卡將於3至4 星期後寄達。

透過 Medicare,你可以免費或以低價使用醫生、專科醫生及其他醫療服務提供者的服務、到醫院接受治療、進行健康檢查、取得處方藥物以及心理治療。

Medicare 全民醫療保險計劃並不包括救護車服務、大部分牙科服務、處方眼鏡和助聽器以及整容手術。

你可到澳洲政府 Medicare 網站了解更多詳情。

英國透過 NHS 提供免費醫療保健服務

所有英國永久居民都可以透過英國國民保健服務(NHS, National Health Service)享用政府資助的醫療保健服務。成人基本上除了需要自費的配藥、牙科、視光、假髮等項目,NHS 的其他服務一貫免費。至於60歲以上人士、16歲以下兒童、孕婦、NHS 住院病人和個別人士則可免費取得處方藥物。

如果你和家人持英國國民(海外)[BN(O)] 簽證移居英國,則每位家庭成員在申請簽證時都需要支付移民健康附加費(IHS, Immigration Health Surcharge)。

居留2年又6個月時間所需支付之 IHS 費用為:

  • 每名成人£1,560(18 歲或以上)
  • 每位兒童£1,175(18 歲以下)

居留5年所需支付之 IHS 費用為:

  • 每位成人£3,120(18 歲或以上)
  • 每名兒童£2,350(18 歲以下)

你須在申請簽證流程中網上支付附加費。

完成支付移民健康附加費,並且簽證或移民申請獲得批准時,你即可開始使用 NHS 提供的服務。

查看 NHS 網站了解有關移民英國的更多詳情。

加拿大政府為所有居民提供全民醫療保險(也稱為 Medicare),由每個省㤋和地區分別管理。

按照不同省份或地區的要求,移民人士或需要等候一段時間才可取得醫療保險卡,免費使用加拿大的公共醫療服務。

加拿大各地的全民醫療保險等候期安排如下:

  • 3個月:西北地區、努納武特地區、安大略省、魁北克省、薩斯喀徹溫省地區
  • 抵達月份後起計2個月:英屬哥倫比亞省
  • 無等候期:阿爾伯塔省、馬尼托巴省、新不倫瑞克省、紐芬蘭省、新斯科舍省、愛德華王子島

等待期間,你可考慮以幾種方式取得暫時性的醫療保障。第一,檢視你現有的保險計劃,保障範圍是否包括加拿大,如否,可查看你的域外緊急醫療保障長度是否足夠。否則,你可以考慮購買短期旅遊保險,作為等待期間的基本保障。

加拿大的公共醫療保險一般不涵蓋處方藥物(除非由醫院提供)、處方眼鏡、部分牙科護理程序、救護車服務以及物理治療。請查看所在地區政府轄下全民醫療保險計劃的條款,了解保障內容。

由於處方藥物不受保障,也有加拿大人會通過參加多於一個聯邦/省/地區提供的全民藥物補助計劃,以及購買私人醫療保險來支付藥費。

瀏覽加拿大衛生部網站了解當地的醫療保健系統。

新加坡的醫療服務收費優待當地公民及永久居民

新加坡政府為公民及永久居民提供兩項主要醫療保健福利:MediShield Life 醫療保障計劃以及 MediSave 醫療儲蓄計劃。MediShield Life 是一項基本醫療保險計劃,可用於支付昂貴的住院治療費用和公立醫院的部分門診治療費用。而 MediSave 由新加坡中央公積金局(CPF)管理,是一個強制儲蓄戶口。新加坡國民必須將每月收入的一部分作為供款存戶口,用於應付自己的醫療保健需要——包括支付保費、住院費用、門診服務,以至長期護理。

不少新加坡人會選擇在 MediShield Life 保險之上額外購買 Integrated Shield 綜合醫保計劃,以提高保障額,方便使用更好的私家醫院病房和服務。新加坡公民及永久居民可自動享有終身醫療保障,無需自行申請。

不過,對於非新加坡居民,如果僱主沒有提供醫療保險,或者所提供保障不足,只可自行購買私人醫療保險。

詳細了解新加坡的醫療保障計劃和補貼。

台灣全民健康保險

持有有效的居留證明文件的在台外籍人士須於受僱日起加入全民健康保險計劃。如果你未有受僱,則須在台灣居留滿6個月起加入全民健保,此前如果你需要在台灣就醫,只可自費或使用其他私人醫療保險。

一般而言,全民健康保險的保費是按你的月收入及眷屬(需要供養的家人)計算的。如果你透過僱主辦理健保計劃,你的僱主將從你的薪金中扣除部分代你支付健保保費。其他情況下,你可以通過銀行轉賬、親身、便利店、或提款機支付保費。

台灣全民健康保險要求受保人自行支付小額「部分負擔」費用,目的是避免濫用醫療資源的情況。

更多資訊可參閱查看衛生福利部中央健康保險署網站。

美國沒有全民醫療保險

美國沒有提供全民醫療保險。大部分受保的美國公民都由僱主提供醫療保險,而某些符合特定條件的人士可循兩種途徑取得健康保障,分別是適用於65歲以上人士、部分殘疾人士和末期腎病患者的 Medicare;以及適用於低收入家庭和殘疾人士的 Medicaid

美國當地的醫療服務以收費高昂而聞名,因此我們強烈建議你如果打算移民美國,千萬要確保自己和家人都有足夠的健康保障,不論是透過僱主還是私人單獨投保。此外,美國的醫療服務及醫療保險受州政府規管,不同州份或有不同政策,你最好提前做好功課,了解所在地區的情況。

移民時如何處理危疾保險及人壽保險?

與醫療保險不同,危疾保險人壽保險的保障並不受地域限制。即使移民,你仍然受保。

但穩妥起見,你都應儘早通知保險公司,讓保險公司得悉你的移民決定。你可以填寫表格通知保險公司更改聯絡地址。保單期內,保險公司通常不會收取附加費用,保費應與投保時一致。

你也可藉此機會複查人壽保單的指定受益人資料,確保所有資料準確無誤。如果保單並未指定受益人,而你不幸離世,你的身故賠償將被納入你的遺產,並按居住地的遺產稅或遺產安排處理。

危疾保險方面,你可以看看目前保單的一筆過賠款的付款詳情是否需要更改,例如從支付香港的本地銀行戶口改到新的海外戶口,避免將來出現不必要的麻煩。

結語

無論你有哪種類型的保單,計劃移民時,都應通知你的保險公司。與摯愛開啟人生新篇章之時,做好過渡準備才能高枕無憂。

祝你一帆風順!

常見問題

移民需要購買旅遊保險嗎?

移居國外時是否需要旅遊保險須視乎你的需求。例如,在你等候登記當地全民醫療保險時,如果你只需要臨時的緊急醫療保障,旅遊保險可能是不錯的選擇。

請注意,旅遊保險無法保障因任何已有病症而產生的醫療費用,也不涵蓋懷孕、慢性病以及高血壓和心臟病等疾病的長期治療。

我可以在海外提出醫療保險索償嗎?

只要屬於你的保單承保範圍內,你可以就於外地使用的醫療服務提出索償。請查閱你的保單條款和細則。

國際醫療保險的保費是多少?

國際醫療保險的費用取決於許多因素,例如你的年齡、居住地、保險範圍、已有病症、吸煙習慣以及醫療通脹。一般來說,醫療保費會隨年齡和其他風險因素而上升。

聯繫 Alea 顧問獲得免費的醫療保險報價。我們會根據你的個人需要為你度身訂造保險方案,而且諮詢服務費用全免。

如果移民國家有提供全民醫療福利,我還需要私人醫療保險嗎?

購買私人健康保險的決定須視乎你的情況,應考慮到財務穩定性和個人需求。

我們的專業保險顧問會隨即與你聯絡,幫你找到適合的保險。

*
*
電話*
電郵*

正考慮自己家人僱員購買醫療或人壽保險?Alea 專家幫到你! 即使你已經受保,我們仍然可以為你找到更適合你的計劃。

Alea持平的意見及個人化的服務,給你來自25+間保險公司、超過100種靈活選擇。如果你已經投保,在 Alea 轉換保單並毋須支付額外費用。立即取得免費報價比較你的選項,或預約電話諮詢,了解更多!

我們的專業保險顧問會儘快與你聯絡,解答你有關保險的所有問題!


本文由 Alea 獨立撰寫,未經贊助。文章僅提供參考資訊,不能取代專業意見。如需進一步的建議,請與專家聯絡。

alea
alea
alea
alea
Health Insurance Tips
alea
Reviewed by a licensed advisor

What Should I Do with My Insurance Policies when I Relocate from Hong Kong?

Will your insurance cover you when abroad? Can you claim overseas?
Last update:
28th September 2022
alea
Reviewed by a licensed advisor
man carrying two children outside a suburban house with a white picket fence
man carrying two children outside a suburban house with a white picket fence
Will your insurance cover you when abroad? Can you claim overseas?
Last update: 28th September 2022

About Alea

Alea is one of Hong Kong's leading health insurance brokers with years of experience navigating the complex insurance market. We can help you save time and money by offering you choice of 100+ options from 25+ insurance companies. Our trusted advisors are ready to answer any questions you may have!


Relocating from Hong Kong? Over the last several years, thousands of Hong Kong residents have been immigrating to countries like the United Kingdom, Canada, Australia, and Taiwan. Between finding a new home, deciding where to send your kids to school, packing up your possessions and shipping them overseas – we know, it’s a lot.

While you’re juggling the nitty-gritty details of relocation, it’s important not to overlook your insurance policies. What should you do with your critical illness insurance? Will your health insurance cover you in your destination country? This article will help you understand what to do to ensure you and your family stay protected as you set down roots overseas.


What to do about health insurance when you relocate

When it comes to relocating your health insurance, there are two key questions to ask. First, will your insurance cover you in your new country? Second, what is the local healthcare system like over there?

Whether or not your health insurance plan will cover you in your destination country depends on your policy. Here are some things to check.

  1. Let your insurer know you are moving. They will advise you on your coverage in the new country and inform you of any transfer options available. They may be able to assist you with portability. Note, however, that even if you are moving to a covered zone, your insurer might decline to continue your coverage based on your status as a “local national” in that country. In this case, they might offer coverage for a period until you can find a suitable alternative.
  2. Check your policy’s area of cover, whether it’s restricted to Asia (including Australia and New Zealand), Worldwide (excluding the United States), or Worldwide (including the United States). a. Within the area of cover: Your plan might cover you until the next policy renewal date (check with your insurer). b. Outside the area of cover: Your policy will usually only provide you with 28 to 30 days of out-of-area emergency cover. Sometimes out-of-area coverage has an overall limit.
  3. Check your policy’s terms and conditions. You might have coverage in the country you’re moving to, but your policy might restrict your coverage to within a specific timeframe, such as 365 days. Consult with your insurer or broker to be sure.
  4. Check if your group policy is portable. If you are leaving your company, your group health insurance plan might have portability (also known as a guarantee of conversion), which means you can keep the same cover if you leave your company and pay for it yourself without being subject to new underwriting, which would risk excluding pre-existing conditions under a new plan. Talk to someone from your HR department or with your company’s broker partner to find out your options.

Most medical insurance contracts are one year or 12 months. If your new country isn’t part of the area of cover, you can choose not to renew the plan when the policy expires. That way, you have no obligation to pay or continue with that plan. On the other hand, if you choose to lapse the policy by not paying your premiums, the insurer has the right to chase you for payments because your contract is for 12 months. Another consequence of failing to pay your premiums: if you reapply for the same plan in the future, your insurer might load your premium for any pre-existing conditions or decline your coverage due to the previous lapsed policy.

Need insurance advice?

Consider your healthcare options in your new home country

Regardless if your current insurance plan protects you in your new home country, it’s a good idea to evaluate your destination country’s healthcare system.

Below is information about Australia, the UK, Canada, Singapore, and Taiwan – some of the top destinations for people relocating from Hong Kong.

*The below information is accurate as of August 29, 2022. As immigration policies are subject to revisions, you should check the latest announcement by authorities in your destination. No responsibility is accepted for any inaccuracies, errors or omissions.


Australia has a universal health insurance scheme

The Australian government provides universal healthcare through Medicare.

You can enroll in Medicare if you’re an Australian permanent resident or applying for permanent residency. Once you’ve enrolled, you’ll be able to access Medicare services with your Medicare card. A digital card is available upon enrollment, but you must wait three to four weeks to receive your physical Medicare card.

Through Medicare, you can get free or low-cost access to medical services provided by doctors, specialists and other medical service providers; treatment at hospitals; screening, tests and scans; some prescription medication; and mental health care.

Medicare doesn’t cover the costs of ambulance services, most dental services, prescription glasses and hearing aids, and cosmetic surgery.

Learn more Australia’s Medicare services on their website.


Britain provides free healthcare through the NHS

In the United Kingdom, publicly-funded healthcare is available for all permanent residents under the National Health Service (NHS). Although most adults need to pay for prescription medicines, dental care, eye care, and wigs and fabric supports, basically everything else provided by the NHS is free. Prescriptions are free for people over 60, children under 16, pregnant women, NHS inpatients, and several other groups.

If you and your family are moving to the UK on a British National (Overseas) [BN(O)] visa, each family member will need to pay the immigration healthcare surcharge (IHS) when you apply for your visa.

For stays of 2 years and 6 months, the IHS fees are:

  • £1,560 per adult (18 or older)
  • £1,175 per child (under 18)

For stays of 5 years, the IHS fees are:

  • £3,120 per adult (18 or older)
  • £2,350 per child (under 18)

The surcharge is paid online as part of the visa application process.

You can start accessing services provided by the NHS when (1) you have paid the healthcare surcharge and (2) your visa or immigration application has been granted.

Check out the NHS website for more details on moving to England.


Canada offers universal healthcare

The Canadian government provides universal healthcare (also known as Medicare) to all residents, separately administered by each province and territory.

Depending on the province or territory, you might be required to go through a waiting period before you can get a health insurance card to access Canada’s public health services for free.

Waiting periods for health insurance in Canada are as follows:

  • 3 months: Northwest Territories, Nunavut, Ontario, Quebec, Saskatchewan Territories
  • 2 months + the rest of the month of arrival: British Columbia
  • No waiting period: Alberta, Manitoba, New Brunswick, Newfoundland, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island

To ensure you have some form of healthcare coverage while you wait to register for a provincial health insurance plan, you have a few options. First, check if the area of cover in your current insurance policy includes Canada. If it doesn’t, then check if the length of your out-of-area emergency cover is sufficient. If that’s not enough, then you can consider buying short-term travel insurance to cover you while you wait.

Note that public health insurance generally does not cover prescription medication (unless administered in a hospital), prescription eyeglasses, certain dental procedures, ambulance services, and physiotherapy. Check the terms in the health insurance plans for your specific province and territory to find out about the extent of coverage.

Because prescription medication isn’t covered, some Canadians can get insurance coverage for prescription drugs through a mix of federal/provincial/territorial drug benefit plans for which they qualify and/or private insurance plans.

Visit the Health Canada website to learn about Canada’s healthcare system.


Singapore’s healthcare is affordable – for citizens and permanent residents

Two key healthcare schemes benefiting citizens and permanent residents in Singapore are MediShield Life and Medisave. MediShield Life is a basic health insurance scheme that helps you pay for costly hospital treatments and certain outpatient treatments in public hospitals. MediSave is a mandatory savings scheme administered by the Central Provident Fund (CPF) for all Singaporeans to set aside some of their monthly income to pay for their healthcare needs – including paying for premiums, inpatient care, outpatient services, and long-term care.

Many Singaporeans also purchase an Integrated Shield plan on top of their MediShield Life insurance so they can have affordable access to nicer wards and stays in private hospitals. Citizens and permanent residents of Singapore are all covered by MediShield Life, no application is required.

Unfortunately, if you are a non-resident in Singapore, it would be a good idea to purchase private health insurance to cover you and your family if your employer doesn’t provide it for you, or if you find their coverage inadequate.

Learn more about Singapore’s healthcare schemes and subsidies.


Taiwan’s National Health Insurance (NHI) protects all residents

If you’re an expat in Taiwan with a valid Alien Resident Certificate (ARC) or Resident Certificate, you will be required to join the National Health Insurance (NHI) program on the first day of your employment. If you don’t have an employer, then you are required to join the NHI program after six months of living in Taiwan. Prior to joining the NHI scheme, if you seek medical treatment in Taiwan, you will need to pay for it out of pocket or have private insurance to cover you.

Generally speaking, NHI premiums are calculated based on monthly income and number of dependents. If you are enrolled in the NHI through your employer, then your employer will withhold some of your salary and pay your NHI premium on your behalf. Otherwise, you can pay your NHI premium through bank transfer, in person, at convenience stores, or at ATMs.

The NHI requires insured persons to pay affordable co-payments. The rationale behind requiring co-payments is “to remind the insured that medical resources are used to help people who are ill or injured and should not be wasted under any circumstance.”

Check the NHI website for more details about Taiwanese healthcare.


The United States has no universal health insurance

The United States government does not have universal health insurance. Most insured Americans have coverage through their employers. There are two insurance programs for certain persons who qualify: Medicare, for people over 65, certain young people with disabilities, and individuals with End-Stage Renal Disease; and Medicaid, for eligible low-income families and people with disabilities.

Because healthcare in the United States is notoriously expensive, we strongly advise that you make sure you and your family are protected through private medical insurance, whether through your employer or purchased on an individual basis. Note that healthcare and health insurance in the US are regulated at the state level, so it’s a good idea to familiarize yourself with the situation in the state you’re moving to beforehand.

What to do about your critical illness insurance and life insurance when you move

Unlike health insurance, critical illness and life insurance are not restricted to geographic regions. If you move countries, you will still be covered.

That said, it’s important to tell your insurance provider that you are moving as early as possible. You can fill out a form to notify the insurer of your change of address. Usually, no new premium loadings will be introduced during the policy period, so your premiums should stay the same as per your contract at inception.

You’ll also want to make sure the designated beneficiaries in your life insurance policy are up to date. If your policy has no designated beneficiaries and you happen to pass away, the death benefit would go to your estate, subjecting it to that country’s estate or inheritance taxes.

If you have critical illness insurance, you might want to find out if the lump sum benefit upon diagnosis would be paid into your Hong Kong bank account, or if you can update your payment details to your new country. This way, you can avoid the hassle of wiring the funds from your Hong Kong account to your new country.

The bottom line

No matter what type of insurance policy you have, if you are planning to relocate or immigrate, you should let your insurance provider know about your move. This will ensure the smoothest transition as you embark on a new chapter in your life, and give you and your family peace of mind.

Best of luck on your new adventure!

FAQs

Do I need travel insurance for moving abroad?

Whether or not you need travel insurance when you move abroad depends on you and your needs. For example, if you need a temporary insurance solution while you wait to register for national or provincial health insurance abroad, then travel insurance might be a good option if all you’re looking for is protection during medical emergencies.

Note that travel insurance won’t cover medical expenses arising from pre-existing conditions, and also excludes pregnancy, chronic illness and long-term treatment for illnesses like hypertension and heart conditions.

Can I make health insurance claims overseas?

You can make claims from medical treatment sought overseas as long as it is within your policy’s area of coverage. Be sure to check your policy’s terms and conditions.

How much does international health insurance cost?

The cost of international health insurance depends on many factors, such as age, country of residence, insurance coverage area, pre-existing conditions, whether you’re a smoker or non-smoker, and medical inflation. Generally, health insurance premiums rise with age and other risk factors.

To get a free health insurance quote, get in touch with an Alea advisor. They’ll give you recommendations tailored to your individual needs. Best of all, consultations are free.

Do I still need private health insurance in a country with free or universal healthcare?

The decision to buy private health insurance depends on your circumstances, factoring in financial stability and individual needs.

Our advisors help you save time, money & worries. Contact us!

First name*
Last name*
Phone*
Email*

Looking for life or health insurance for yourself, your family or your team?

You already have an insurance policy? You could find a better plan!

Alea brings you choice, unbiased advice and outstanding service, with access to 100+ options from 25+ insurance companies. If you already have an insurance policy, switching insurance policies with Alea doesn’t cost you a thing.

Get free quotes or schedule a quick chat with us.

An advisor will be in touch to answer all your questions!


This article was independently written by Alea and is not sponsored. It is informative only and not intended to be a substitute for professional advice and should never be relied upon for specific advice.