alea
alea
alea
alea
醫療保險貼士
alea
已核實

續保須知:醫療保險到期?續保前留意5件事

又到了每年續保的時候?5個專家貼士,教你管理醫療保險得心應手。
最後更新:
2021年11月25日
alea
已核實
Renewing your health insurance
Renewing your health insurance
又到了每年續保的時候?5個專家貼士,教你管理醫療保險得心應手。
最後更新: 2021年11月25日

投購醫療保險時,你通常會簽訂為期一年的合約。每年續約之前,你都有機會重新審視計劃是否仍然符合你的需求和預算,亦有權選擇轉換計劃,而你的經紀人應該在整個過程中從旁協助。Alea 專家將會解釋你需要了解的重點,分享一些小貼士,陪你走過這個一年一度的重要時刻。

如果你需要為公司或團體醫療保險續保,則可以閱讀這篇文章


1 - 保單的續保日期並不等同其保證續保

你的續保時間通常每年固定,但保單的可續保性指的是保單可續保的次數。為未來作計劃時,你必須將保單的可續保次數納入考慮,確保長遠而言你能在需要時隨意更新保障。

一般而言,保單的續保條款可分為兩類,終身保證續保或設續保年齡上限:

  1. 保證終身續保的保單容許投保人終身使用同一保單,不論健康狀況上的改變。投保後的所有申報疾病均可受保,直至你選擇終止保單。
  2. 另外,有些保險計劃會設置年齡限制,如保障受保人至60或70歲為止。本港大部分的僱員醫療保險計劃都只能保障65歲以下人士,當保險公司認為風險超出利益,便可能拒絕承保。

尋找適合你的醫療保險

2 - 為醫療保險續保時可能出現的變化

你的保險經紀人大約會於保單到期前4-6星期與你聯絡,而你可以決定是否繼續現有保險計劃。保險產品及保費可能會改變,以下是一些你可能需要留意的事項:

保費加價

受以下的因素所影響,保費通常會逐年增加:

  • 醫療通脹:香港的醫療通脹水平平均為每年8-10%

  • 產品表現:每間保險公司都或有不同的市埸策略與風險評估方針,如果產品表現欠佳(如索賠率過低),來年的保費很可能會增加。

  • 你的年齡:隨年紀增長,健康風險可想而知亦會遞增。部分計劃會逐年加保費,部分計劃則按年齡段加價。

請注意:保險公司並無法控制市面上的醫療通脹以及保險產品的實際表現。

保障內容可能改變

這種情況並不常見,但你的保障範圍可能會出現變化。為迎合市場,保險會產品會不斷改進,因此在簽約續保前,最好先仔細了解相關條款。大部分情況下,此類改變會對你較為有利;但不得不提的是,在過往幾年間,Alea 也曾遇到過會嚴重損害客戶利益的產品條款變動,我們強烈建議你在續保前向保險經紀人/顧問查詢計劃上的任何更改。

你的保險產品可能被擱置

保險公司有時會因為各種原因決定停止銷售某種保險產品,被稱為擱置產品。在這種情況下,舊有客戶一般會有兩個選擇:繼續使用原有計劃,或者更改至保險公司的另一產品(免重新承保)。假如你遇到以上情況,請與你的經紀人/顧問商討最適合你的解決方案。

免費獲得醫療保險諮詢

*
*
電話*
電郵*

3 - 如何為醫療保險保單續保?

你的保險經紀人或顧問有責任於保單到期前4-6星期與你聯繫,通知你價錢上或計劃內容上的變動。

相對地,你亦有責任通知經紀人你現況的變化,譬如司法管轄區的改變(移民等),或是就業情況上的變動(失去公司團體保險),方能讓你的保險顧問作出相應的評估。

你的保險顧問可能會提出新的選項,但轉換計劃或更換保險公司可能會需重新核保,如需重新回答醫療問卷,同時前一計劃中所申報的疾病都會被視作投保前已有病症,未必獲計劃保障或須支付更高的保費方可受保。

4 - 續保形式:明示與默認續保有什麼不同?

不同的保險公司可能會有不同的續保安排。

  • 默認續保(Tacit renewal):如沒有明確提出終止合約的要求,保險公司會自動為你續保。若你決定退保,必須向保險公司申請。

  • 明示續保(Express renewal):與上述情況不同,保單到期時保險公司需要向你清楚確認續保意願,取得投保人同意,方可執行延續合約。否則,保單將於到期時失效。


專家提提你 → 續保時記得留意你的付款方式!

如果你通過信用卡支付保費,請注意有些保險公司未必會等待你明確同意續保,無論你是否願意續約,如果你沒有及時傳達你的決定,可能會被自動收費。如果你打算停止使用保險公司的服務,請特別留意並檢查銀行帳單。

5 - 温馨提示

如果你的情況有變,或者你希望更換保險計劃/公司,請務必在續保日期前至少2個月聯繫你的顧問,預留更多時間研究你的選擇再下決定。

假如你有特殊健康需要或身患疾病,又或者是想仔細比較不同保險公司的更好條件的還價,建議你至少在續保日期前3個月聯繫你的醫療保險顧問。

免費獲得醫療保險諮詢

*
*
電話*
電郵*

正考慮自己家人僱員購買醫療保險?Alea 專家幫到你!

Alea持平的意見及個人化的服務,給你來自20多間保險公司、超過100種靈活選擇。立即取得免費報價比較你的選項,或預約電話諮詢,了解更多!

我們的醫療保險顧問會儘快與你聯絡,解答你有關醫療保險的所有問題!


本文由 Alea 獨立撰寫,未經贊助。文章僅提供參考資訊,不能取代專業意見。如需進一步的建議,請與專家聯絡。

alea
alea
alea
alea
Health Insurance Tips
alea
Fact Checked

Before You Renew Your Health Insurance: 5 Things to Know

Approaching the renewal of your health insurance policy? 5 tips to manage like a pro and avoid bad surprises.
Last Update:
26 October 2021
alea
Fact Checked
Renewing your health insurance
Renewing your health insurance
Approaching the renewal of your health insurance policy? 5 tips to manage like a pro and avoid bad surprises.
Last Update: 26 October 2021

When purchasing health insurance, you are generally committing yourself to a one-year contract. Every year before your contract renewal date, you have the opportunity to assess whether the plan still fits your needs and budget. You have the right to change plans and your broker should be there to help you throughout the process. Alea experts explain everything you need to know about this important time of the year and share some insider tips and tricks.


1 - Your renewal date is not the same as renewability

While your renewal date is yearly, your policy’s renewability means how many times you can renew your policy. Renewability is key when planning for the future because you want to make sure you can renew your health policy for as long as you want.

Two types of renewability exist. Your plan may either have life renewability or an age limit:

  1. When a plan is renewable for life, it means that you may stay under the same policy for your whole life, regardless of your health conditions. Every medical condition that is declared after you have joined the plan will be covered until you decide to end the plan.

  2. However, some plans set an age limit. It means that some plans cover you until you reach a certain age like 60 or 70 years old. In fact, most employee medical benefits end at 65 in Hong Kong. Insurers consider that the balance between benefits and risks is no longer positive and the contract ought to be terminated.

2 - What may happen when your health insurance policy renews?

When your broker contacts you 4 to 6 weeks before your renewal date, it is your decision whether or not to continue with the policy. The product and its premiums may have changed over the years and here are a few things to keep in mind when that time comes:

Premium increase:

Premiums usually increase every year because of:

  • Medical inflation: in Hong Kong medical inflation is around 8 to 10% on average.
  • Product performance: every insurer has a different market strategy and appetite for risk. If the product’s performance is poor (i.e. bad claim ratios), it will likely increase the following year.
  • Your age: the older you get the greater the risk. Some plans are based on a yearly basis and other plans are based on age bracket increases.

Keep in mind: brokers have no control over private medical inflation in Hong Kong nor the insurers’ product performances.

Your benefits may change:

This is uncommon but you might face a change in your benefits. Products evolve to better fit the market, so before renewing it is best to check for any potential changes. Typically, those changes are usually to your advantage. That being said, in the past years at Alea we have witnessed product changes that were detrimental to members. We advise that you double-check any changes with your broker/advisor.

Your product might be shelved:

Insurers sometimes decide to stop selling a product, and it can be for many reasons. It is called shelving a product. In that case, the clients under the old policy will be offered two possibilities. Either they stay under the old plan, or they migrate to another product with their insurer without undergoing new underwriting. Talk to your broker/advisor to find the best solution for you.

Want a better insurance experience?

3 - How to renew your health insurance policy?

Four to six weeks before your renewal date, your advisor will contact you. It is their duty to do so. Your advisor will communicate any price inflation and changes that may occur in your benefits.

Then, it is your duty to share any changes in your situation, such as jurisdiction changes (relocation to another country) or employment changes (loss of work coverage). Your advisor needs this information in order to best advise you.

Based on this, your advisor may present new options. However, keep in mind that switching plans or changing the insurer will likely involve new underwriting (answering a new medical questionnaire) and that any conditions declared under the previous plan will be considered as pre-existing conditions under the new one. Therefore, they might be excluded or cause a higher premium.

4 - Express or tacit renewal?

Depending on your insurer, renewal may be express or tacit.

  • Tacit renewal: It means that your silence will be interpreted as consent to continue under the same policy. If you do not wish to renew, you will have to say it loud and clear.
  • Express renewal: On the contrary, a clear "Yes, I wish to continue" is expected here. If you do not say anything, your policy will stop. Your insurer will need a clear answer to renew the contract.

Expert tips → Beware of your method of payment during renewal

If you pay your premium by credit card, beware of the fact that some insurers do not wait for your express consent to continue the plan. It means that whether or not you want to stay, if you did not express your decision in time, they might automatically charge you. Make sure to be aware of this and check your bank statements if you have decided to stop your coverage with your previous insurer.

5 - Final tips & tricks

If your situation has changed or if you wish to switch plans/insurance providers, make sure to reach out to your advisor at least 2 months before your renewal date. This will give you more time to look into your options and make an informed decision.

If you have pre-existing conditions and would like to shop around to compare counter-offers from different insurance providers, it is recommended to reach out to your health insurance advisor at least 3 months before your renewal date.

Looking for health insurance for yourself, your family or your team?

Alea brings you choice, unbiased advice and personalized service, with access to 100+ options from 25 insurance companies. Receive a free comparison quote or schedule a chat with us today.

An advisor will be in touch to answer all your questions!


This article was independently written by Alea and is not sponsored. It is informative only and not intended to be a substitute for professional advice and should never be relied upon for specific advice.