alea
alea
alea
alea
醫療保險貼士 / 指南
alea
經持牌顧問核實

【2023展望】醫療通脹如何影響你的醫療保險保費?

為什麼醫療費用一年貴過一年?對保險保費又有什麼影響?
最後更新:
2022年12月16日
alea
經持牌顧問核實
醫護人員模型解釋香港醫療通脹高企
醫護人員模型解釋香港醫療通脹高企
為什麼醫療費用一年貴過一年?對保險保費又有什麼影響?
最後更新: 2022年12月16日
目錄

2023年,香港的醫療通脹率為8.8%。

全世界都正面對醫療服務和藥物費用持續上升的問題,2023年的預計全球醫療通脹率更創15年新高。Alea 會在此文解釋醫療費用飆升的原因,以及醫療通脹如何直接影響醫療保險保費。如果你對年年加價的保費感到不耐煩,或者可以先了解一下箇中原因,以應付來年的醫療通脹。


全球以及香港本地的最新醫療通脹情況

全球醫療通脹概況

醫療通脹medical inflation)是一種全球性現象,對各大洲的影響程度亦有所不同。風險管理顧問公司 WTW 的《2023年全球醫療趨勢調查報告》預計全球平均醫療成本在2023將升至10.0%,繼2021年的8.2%和2022年的8.8%再度飆升。

亞太地區的平均增幅將從6.9%上升至10.2%;歐洲從10.5%至11.5%;中東和非洲地區從10.5%至11.5%;拉丁美洲從18.2%至18.9%。唯一有下跌趨勢的地區為北美洲,預測會從9.4%降至6.5%,以及從9.7%至8.6%。

另一國際人力資源諮詢機構 MercerMarsh Benefits 的全球調查報告中亦有類似的預測。2023年,全球醫療趨勢預計為12.6%;亞洲平均為11.5%;歐洲為13.8%;中東及非洲同樣為13.8%。


本港醫療通脹情況

WTW 的報告還預測,香港的醫療通脹將從2022年的8.2%上升至2023年的8.8%,整體高於2021年的7.5%。Mercer 在報告中亦對香港作出類似的預測,從2021年的5.8%和2022年的6.0%繼續上升至2023年的8.8%。雖然本港的醫療費用增幅低於亞太區的平均值,但香港的私人醫療市場收費高昂,對消費者影響仍不可忽視。

謹慎選用醫療保險計劃極其重要,與此同時,由公司提供的團體醫療福利,向來是不少企業用以吸引和挽留人才的關鍵優勢。

為你帶來更好的醫療保險體驗

為什麼醫療通脹一直飆升?

簡單而言,醫療保險保費加價與多重因素有關。

醫療行業現況及發展因素

  • 因不良健康習慣而過度使用服務
  • 缺乏預防性健康服務
  • 處方藥成本增加
  • 引入新的醫療技術

社會及人口結構因素

  • 癌症、心血管疾病和肌肉骨骼疾病在亞太地區非常常見,產生巨額治療費用
  • 人口老化
  • 心理健康問題日漸普遍

保險行業因素

另外,人力資源顧問 Segal 在其2023健康計劃成本趨勢調查報告中指出,保險公業內的一些內部因素亦有所影響。

  • 計劃設計上的改變
  • 區域市場競爭
  • 行政開支
  • 合約重擬、保險計劃改進、成本管理等

為什麼2023年醫療通脹特別高?

多間國際機構都預期2023年的醫療通脹會創15年來新高,其中WTW 醫療趨勢預測10%增長,而 Mercer 預測為12.6%,高企的醫療成本主要可歸因以下的因素。

癌症、心血管疾病和肌肉骨骼疾病

Willis Towers Watson 的報告解釋,癌症心血管疾病和肌肉骨骼疾病是治療成本和發病率排名前三的疾病,預計將在未來5年內為各國醫療系統帶來最大的負擔。

香港雖在聯合國人口統計摘要中被認定為全球壽命為最高的人口,但一直面臨嚴重的人口老化問題,人口持續老化加上癌症病例的增加,加劇了本地的醫療通脹。

固然癌症所造成的醫療費用位居榜首,但索償次數最高的病症是肌肉骨骼疾病。新冠疫情期間,遠程工作模式和缺乏運動的生活方式可能增加了關節炎、骨質疏鬆症、背痛和纖維肌痛等肌肉骨骼疾病的發生率。

精神及心理健康

心理健康問題在近年越來越普遍,未來更有惡化的趨勢。

Mind HK 於2022年3月進行了一項調查,以了解香港市民的精神健康狀況。當中有56%的受訪者在世界衛生組織五項身心健康指標(WHO-5)中得分屬於「差」的狀態;49.4%的受訪者顯示有不同程度的抑鬱症狀,41.3%的受訪者有不同程度的焦慮症狀,程況令人擔憂。

精神及心理健康問題一向被保險公司視為不保事項,直到近來才開始備受關注,有越來越多的保險公司願意承保心理疾病,無可避免亦可能增加了醫療保險公司的成本。Mercer 報告中發現,只有16%的保險公司未有提供任何心理健康保障,比起一年前的26%有明顯進步。WTW 2023年的報告中,心理及行為健康在全球醫療成本和發生率方面均在目前排行第四,預計將成為「未來18個月內索償次數增長最大的健康狀況」。

要進一步了解心理健康危機,你可以閱讀 Willis Towers Watson 2020年出版的《The mounting crisis of mental health》報告,以及由 Alea 獨家撰寫的《香港2022年心理健康支援報告》

過度使用醫療服務

過度使用醫療服務也推高了醫療費用,醫療保健的過度消費和新醫療技術的應用也是醫療通脹率高企的原因之一。這種過度消費既來自專業醫療人員,也源於患者本身。不健康的生活習慣也間接導致醫療價格上漲並推動通貨膨脹。。

同樣,使用新醫療技術不可避免也會增加醫療成本。事實上,今年有全球75%的保險公司表示最擔心成本因為醫療保健提供者推薦過多服務而增加。

醫療通脹對醫療保險保費有什麼影響?

**醫療通脹直接影響私人醫療保險費。**即使你選擇續保原有的保險計劃,維持相同的保障,保費也會逐年加價。雖然保費上漲的原因部分是基於保險公司對其產品的管理決定,但每年的通貨膨脹往往超出保險公司的控制範圍。

在全球經濟前景不明朗的情況下,企業必須重新審視醫療保障,並考慮做出實質性的改變。你可能需要提前為醫療成本的變化做好準備,並重新考慮不同保障的優先程度。

同樣,購買人壽保險時,請務必考慮未來通貨膨脹對生活及醫療成本的潛在影響。

Alea 保險顧問服務

我們的專業保險顧問會隨即與你聯絡,幫你找到適合的保險。

*
*
電話*
電郵*

新冠疫情對醫療通脹的影響

自新冠病毒肆虐全球,許多非緊急手術和選擇性護理程序都被推遲,使許多國家的醫療保健服務利用率和醫療成本在2020至2021年不升反降。然而經過兩年多的時間,延緩的醫療服務已逐步恢復使用,預計醫療成本亦基本上回復至疫情前水平。這在一定程度上解釋了香港的醫療通脹,WTW 指出,社交聚會限制和入境旅客檢疫規則的逐步放寬可能意味著對住院和醫療服務的需求增加。

WTW 的報告也指,一些保險公司已經取消了對全球大流行傳染病的排除條款,並改進了計劃的限制。Mercer 留意到亞洲有五分之一的保險公司會針對新冠疫苗接種狀態調整保費。

另一方面,遠程醫療已成為新冠疫情期間的新興趨勢,為大眾提供了更方便的醫療服務,同時也是一種有效的成本管理工具。現時,有一半接受調查的保險公司都在旗下所有保險計劃中涵蓋遠程醫療。


78%的保險公司一致認為,全球醫療趨勢和醫療保險保費在未來三年內將進一步增長。

想知道怎樣應付每年增加的醫療保險保費?同場加映:8個的專家小貼士教你減低醫療保費。

常見問題

醫療通漲率是如何計算的?

醫療通脹率通過計算一個地方每年醫療服務和產品價格上的平均變化得出。

香港的醫療服務昂貴嗎?

現時,香港的私人醫療市場亞絕全球,收費僅次於美國,而且每年面臨一定的醫療通漲,有上升趨勢。另一方面,政府公立服務雖然價格非常廉宜,但供不應求,長期有等候時間過長的問題,對於需要盡快獲得治療的病人不太友好。

醫療通漲與醫療保費加價有何關係?

計算每年保費時,保險公司會考慮通脹對市場醫療費用的影響,從而影響其承保風險和利潤。即使保額和承保內容保持不變,醫療通脹也無可避免,是保費每年增加的部分原因。

我們的專業保險顧問會隨即與你聯絡,幫你找到適合的保險。

*
*
電話*
電郵*

正考慮自己家人僱員購買醫療或人壽保險?Alea 專家幫到你! 即使你已經受保,我們仍然可以為你找到更適合你的計劃。

Alea持平的意見及個人化的服務,給你來自25+間保險公司、超過100種靈活選擇。如果你已經投保,在 Alea 轉換保單並毋須支付額外費用。立即取得免費報價比較你的選項,或預約電話諮詢,了解更多!

我們的專業保險顧問會儘快與你聯絡,解答你有關保險的所有問題!


本文由 Alea 獨立撰寫,未經贊助。文章僅提供參考資訊,不能取代專業意見。如需進一步的建議,請與專家聯絡。

alea
alea
alea
alea
Health Insurance Tips
alea
Reviewed by a licensed advisor

[2023 Outlook] Why Is Medical Inflation Going Through the Roof?

Why are healthcare costs increasing so much and what's the impact on your health insurance premium?
Last update:
10th January 2023
alea
Reviewed by a licensed advisor
miniature medical staff illustrating high medical inflation in hk
miniature medical staff illustrating high medical inflation in hk
Why are healthcare costs increasing so much and what's the impact on your health insurance premium?
Last update: 10th January 2023
Contents

Hong Kong’s medical inflation rate is set to be 8.8% in 2023.

The global health market is expecting a 15-year high global inflation rate in 2023. We at Alea are taking a closer look at the trend to help you prepare for its direct impact on increased medical insurance costs. Read on to understand what's going on behind the surging costs.


What are the medical inflation rates worldwide and locally?


Internationally:

Medical inflation is an international phenomenon that affects continents differently. According to the "2023 Global Medical Trends Survey Report" by WTW, the global trend is projected to go up to 10.0% in 2023, further stepping up from 8.8% in 2022 and 8.2% in 2021.

The average increase will surge from 6.9% to 10.2% in Asia Pacific, 8.0% to 8.6% in Europe, 10.5% to 11.5% in the Middle East and Africa, and 18.2% to 18.9% in Latin America. This leaves North America as the only region that sees a dip in its projected number, which decreases from 9.4% to 6.5%.

In a different global insurer survey report published by MercerMarsh Benefits, global health trend is predicted to be at 12.6% in 2023. The average will be 11.5% in Asia, 13.8% in Europe and 13.8% in the Middle East and Africa.


In Hong Kong:

The WTW report also predicted medical inflation to increase from 8.2% in 2022 to 8.8% in 2023, continuing to climb from 7.5% in 2021. The Mercer report shows a similar trend in Hong Kong, with a forecasted medical trend rate of 7.5%, rising consecutively from 5.8% in 2021 to 6.0% in 2022. While the increase rate is lower than the Asia Pacific average, it is important to note that private healthcare costs are particularly high in the city.

This is one of the reasons why it is important to choose your health insurance plan carefully, no matter whether you are buying insurance as an individual consumer, or for your group medical insurance coverage as an employer.

What drives the medical inflation trend?

In a nutshell, the increase in health insurance premiums can be explained by a number of external factors:

Medical practices and development

  • Overuse and overprescription of care due to poor health habits of insured members
  • Underuse or lack of preventive services
  • Increase in costs of prescription medicines
  • Introduction of new medical technologies

Demographic factors

  • In Asia-Pacific, cancer, cardiovascular and musculoskeletal are the most common health conditions that incur huge financial costs for treatments
  • The aging population
  • The increasing incidence of mental health conditions

The 2023 Segal Health Plan Cost Trend Survey Report also highlights internal factors in the insurance industry:

  • Changes in plan design
  • Regional market competition
  • Administrative fees
  • Contract renegotiations, improvement of insurance plans, cost management, etc.

Need health insurance at a better price?

Why is medical inflation so high in 2023?

Global medical trends in 2023 hit the highest projected increase in nearly 15 years, at a rate of 10% in WTW's medical trend and 12.6% in Mercer's forecast. Let's take a look at the key driving factors.

Cancer, musculoskeletal and cardiovascular disorders

The WTW report explains that cancers, cardiovascular diseases, and musculoskeletal conditions are the top three conditions by cost and incidence. These three conditions are expected to account for the most substantial medical costs in the next five years.

In Hong Kong where life expectancy is rated the highest in the world according to the United Nations Vital Statistics Summary, the aging population and the increasing number of cancer cases have been driving medical inflation locally.

While cancer accounts for the highest medical costs, musculoskeletal conditions have the highest incidence of claims. The remote working model and sedentary lifestyle during COVID-19 have afflicted many musculoskeletal conditions, such as arthritis, osteoporosis, osteoarthritis, back pain and fibromyalgia.

Mental health crisis

Mental and behavioral health problems are becoming more concerning than ever, worsened by the COVID-19 crisis.

Mind HK conducted a survey in March 2022 to understand the overall wellbeing level of Hong Kong citizens. Almost 56% of the respondents were found to have "poor" overall mental wellbeing under the World Health Organization 5 (WHO – 5) Well-Being Index. As worrying is that 49.4% of the respondents showed symptoms of mild to severe depression, and 41.3% showed symptoms of mild to severe anxiety.

Mental health care was traditionally excluded by insurers until lately, more and more health insurance providers are willing to cover mental health coverage — which inevitably increases health insurance costs. Mercer discovers that only 16% of insurers do not provide any mental health services coverage – an improvement from 26% in 2022. In WTW's 2023 report, "Mental and behavioral health" currently ranks fourth by cost and incidence globally. And is expected to be the "fastest growing condition by incidence of claims over the next 18 months".

To learn more about the global mental health trend, you can read the 2020 report “The mounting crisis of mental health” by WTW and our exclusive thought piece examining mental health protection in the local insurance market.

Overconsumption of healthcare services

An excess of care leads to higher pricing. High medical inflation rates are also explained by the overconsumption of healthcare and the emergence of new technologies. This overconsumption comes as much from healthcare professionals as from the patients themselves. Poor lifestyle habits bring about higher healthcare prices and drive inflation.

Likewise, the use of new and more efficient technologies ineluctably leads to an increase in prices. In fact, 75% of insurers this year are most concerned about the heightening of costs due to healthcare providers recommending too many services.

What is the impact on insurance premiums?

Medical inflation rates directly impact private health insurance premiums. In fact, premiums tend to increase each year even if your insurance contract remains unchanged and provides the same benefits. While premium increases are partly due to insurers’ management performance of their products, inflation rates are often beyond the control of insurers.

With the uncertain economic outlook, companies and individuals may need to review their medical benefits and consider making substantial changes at renewals. You may want to plan in advance for changes in medical service pricing and prioritize benefits under your plan.

The same when you are shopping around for life insurance options, do take into consideration future inflation and how it may affect the costs of living.

How Alea can help you save on insurance

Our advisors help you save time, money & worries. Contact us!

First name*
Last name*
Phone*
Email*

Impact of the pandemic on medical inflation

During the pandemic, many non-urgent surgeries and elective care were delayed, bringing a decline in healthcare utilization and medical cost to many countries in 2020 and 2021. However, as deferred healthcare utilization resumes, medical costs are expected to return to pre-pandemic levels. This accounts partly for the inflation in Hong Kong, as WTW notes that the gradual relaxation of social gathering restrictions and incoming travelers quarantine rules may imply a larger demand of hospitalization and medical services.

WTW also reports that some insurers have removed certain pandemic exclusions and refined program wording limitations. Mercer found that more than 1 in 5 Asian insurers adjust premiums based on COVID-19 vaccination status.

On the other hand, telehealth has become a trend during COVID-19, which provides more efficient access to healthcare services, while serving as an effective cost management tool. More than half of the insurers surveyed now cover telehealth across their plans.


Global medical trends and health insurance premiums are expected to further increase for the next three years, as agreed by 78% of insurers worldwide.

Brace yourself for the upcoming challenges and be sure to check out our guide on how to reduce your health insurance cost here to plan your next steps.

FAQs

How is medical inflation measured?

Medical inflation is a calculation of the average changes in prices of medical services and goods in a place annually.

Is healthcare in Hong Kong expensive?

Currently, Hong Kong has the world's second most expensive private healthcare system, second only to the United States. Let alone the ever-rising inflation rate every year. On the other hand, while the public sector provides highly affordable services, due to its huge demand, has an extensive waiting period that can be distressing to patients requiring immediate medical attention.

How does medical inflation affect my insurance premiums?

Insurance companies would take into account the effect of inflation on medical costs on the market, and hence, on their medical benefits. Inflation is also part of the reason why premiums may increase every year even if the cover remains the same.

What makes us different

We bring you more, at no extra cost

Traditional Broker
Traditional Agent
Choice of 25+ insurers at the best price
Choice of 25+ insurers at the best price
Alea
Alea
Alea
Extensive audit of your current insurance
Extensive audit of your current insurance
Alea
Alea
Alea
Unbiased advice
Unbiased advice
Alea
Alea
Alea
Dedicated customer care all year long
Dedicated customer care all year long
Alea
Alea
Alea
Health & wellness perks
Health & wellness perks
Alea
Alea
Alea

Our advisors help you save time, money & worries. Contact us!

First name*
Last name*
Phone*
Email*

Looking for life or health insurance for yourself, your family or your team?

Do you already have an insurance policy? You could find a better plan!

Alea brings you choice, unbiased advice and outstanding service, with access to 100+ options from 25+ insurance companies. If you already have an insurance policy, switching insurance policies with Alea doesn’t cost you a thing.

Get free quotes or schedule a quick chat with us.

An advisor will be in touch to answer all your questions!


This article was independently written by Alea and is not sponsored. It is informative only and not intended to be a substitute for professional advice and should never be relied upon for specific advice.