alea
alea
alea
alea
治療及醫療程序
alea
已核實

不育治療及保險:保險是否保障人工受孕、試管嬰兒?

人工受孕及試管嬰兒服務及收費。了解你的選擇和保障。
最後更新:
2021年9月2日
alea
已核實
Fertility treatments in Hong Kong
Fertility treatments in Hong Kong
人工受孕及試管嬰兒服務及收費。了解你的選擇和保障。
最後更新: 2021年9月2日

你知道嗎?香港每6對夫婦就有1對有不育問題。

以上統計數字來自香港人類生殖科技管理局。作為健康專家,我們在將為你解釋在香港進行試管嬰兒和生育治療的資訊。

不育的原因很多,影響因素可能包括男性輸卵管阻塞或損害、精液異常、女性排卵障礙、子宮內膜異位、原因不明的不育症,也可能與年齡增長有關。輔助生育技術(ART)可以作為增加受孕機會的一種選擇。

眾所周知,香港是世界上私人醫療服務最昂貴地方之一。隨着越來越多人選擇晚育,不少夫婦都會考慮使用ART。然而相關技術價格不菲,儘管公營醫院收費較低,等待時間卻通常過長,欠缺靈活性,因此很多夫妻都傾向於到私家醫院接受療程。

無論你因為什麼原因考慮輔助生育技術,本文會為你介紹香港的生育治療服務與相關醫療保險,讓你了解所有選項。通常只有少數高端國際醫療保險計劃才能涵蓋生育治療,且保障設有諸多限制,如懷孕保險、等候期、投保前已有病症以及賠償限額等。


輔助生育技術(ART):宮腔內人工授精與體外人工受孕/試管嬰兒

宮腔內人工授精(IUI)

宮腔內人工授精用於治療不明原因的不育問題、排卵問題、性功能障礙、精子數量少、精弱、子宮頸疤痕、肌肉問題等。將經過洗精程序處理的精子注射入子宮腔,使其在排卵前更靠近卵巢,從而增加受精的機會。這種輔助生育技術一般較體外受精(IVF)便宜。

體外受精/試管嬰兒(IVF)

試管嬰兒是最受歡迎的輔助生育治療方式,會在體外使女性卵子受精,整個過程可能需要4到6週的時間。治療通過注射荷爾蒙刺激卵巢、收集精子、取卵、體外受精,並會在9-14天后抽血檢驗確認胚胎是否已成功植入子宮。

香港在哪裏可以進行人工受孕?

私家醫院: 在私家醫院的等候時間或受醫生日程安排影響,但在生殖專科醫生的安排上更具彈性、更多選擇。

以下是香港提供試管嬰兒手術的私家醫院/診所:

注意:香港法例只容許已婚夫婦(不包括同性婚姻)在雙方都同意的情況下進行手術;私家醫院對於年齡和公民身份不設限制。


公立醫院: 公立醫院限制較為嚴格,且等候時間長,但收費會相對便宜。

以下是香港提供試管嬰兒手術的公立醫院/診所:

*資料來源:摘自2021年9月1日香港人類生殖科技管理局的持牌中心列表。你亦可以在此處找到該委員會許可服務提供者的完整列表。請注意其中列出的部分持牌中心並不提供試管嬰兒服務,而是其他與生育相關的服務。

在香港進行試管嬰兒的收費是多少?

公立醫院公家服務: 在公立醫院接受服務雖然並非完全免費,但可獲醫院管理局大幅資助。以威爾斯親王醫院為例,進行體外受精的費用大約為港幣$10,000至$24,500不等,費用包括細胞漿內精子注入(ICSI)和胚胎儲存(詳情請參閱公家症服務收費表)。

公立醫院私家服務: 教學醫院同時也提供私家症服務,通常等待時間較短,費用也會較高。在威爾斯親王醫院,進行ICSI和冷凍胚胎儲存每個療程的費用約介乎港幣$37,360至$79,310(詳情請參閱私家症病人收費表)。

私家醫院: 私家醫院或診所進行生育治療的收費標準不統一,費用大大高於公共醫療系統。每個IVF療程的費用通常在港幣$80,000至$150,000之間,具體因應所需的設施和服務而定。

為你帶來更好的醫療保險體驗

哪種醫療保險涵蓋IVF?

香港絕大多醫療保險計劃並不涵蓋試管嬰兒手術,也只有少數高端國際計劃會將IVF納入保障範圍,且通常僅被列在懷孕保險中。如果你已經被診斷出有生育問題,則會被當成投保前已有病症,多數不獲保障。

此外,不同計劃或設有12到24個月不等的等候期,表示你無法在醫療保單的第一和第二年度內就IVF相關的醫療費用獲得報銷。考慮到香港的體外受精手術費用昂貴,保險通常只能賠償總費用的一小部分。

以下保險公司提供輔助生殖技術的保險:

ALC (PLATINUM)

保障額:每次保險限額為美元$3,000,每位受保人最多只可享用保障3次。在此項目投保人需承擔50%的共同保險。

等待時間:無

承保範圍:試管嬰兒及體外受精療程。所有治療均須根據保險中的預授權,保險公司保留完全拒絕索賠的權利。

APRIL (MY HEALTH INTERNATIONAL)

保障額:每次保險限額最高€/$ 1,500或€/$ 2500。

等待期:12個月

承保範圍:藥物、體外受精、診斷測試和後續檢查

MSH (FIRST EXPAT)

保障額:每次保險限額最高為美元$1,100、$1,500或$1,900;終身限額為美元$4,400、$6,000或$7,600。

等待期:12個月

正考慮自己家人僱員購買醫療保險?Alea 專家幫到你!

Alea持平的意見及個人化的服務,給你來自20多間保險公司、超過100種靈活選擇。立即取得免費報價比較你的選項,或預約電話諮詢,了解更多!

我們的醫療保險顧問會儘快與你聯絡,解答你有關醫療保險的所有問題!


本文由 Alea 獨立撰寫,未經贊助。文章僅提供參考資訊,不能取代專業意見。如需進一步的建議,請與專家聯絡。

alea
alea
alea
alea
Treatment & Procedures
alea
Fact Checked

Fertility Treatments and Health Insurance: All You Need to Know

IVF options and costs. An expert guide to help you see more clearly.
Last Update:
September 2, 2021
alea
Fact Checked
Fertility treatments in Hong Kong
Fertility treatments in Hong Kong
IVF options and costs. An expert guide to help you see more clearly.
Last Update: September 2, 2021

Did you know that in Hong Kong, 1 in 6 couples has issues conceiving?

This is an official statistic from Hong Kong's Council on Human Reproductive Technology, and as health experts we're here to tell you all you need to know about IVF and fertility treatments in Hong Kong.

There are many reasons for infertility; factors may include male tubal obstruction or damage, semen abnormality, female ovulation disorder, endometriosis, unexplained infertility, and age can be factored in both men and women as well. Assisted Reproductive Technology (ART) can serve as an option to increase the chance of conception.

Hong Kong's private healthcare system is known to be one of the most expensive in the world. As couples have children later in life, ART has become an increasingly sought out option for many couples however these procedures are costly, and while the public system provides lower fees, the wait times are much longer and there's less flexibility. Thus, couples tend to turn to the private sector for these treatments.

Whether you are having trouble with infertility or conceiving, the best way to begin the process is to understand your options. In this article, we go through fertility treatments and health insurance coverage in Hong Kong. Fertility treatments are usually only covered under the high-end international plans with restrictions such as maternity cover, waiting periods, pre-existing conditions, and cap limits.


Assisted Reproductive Technology (ART): IUI and IVF

Intrauterine Insemination (IUI)

An IUI is a procedure used for unexplained infertility, ovulatory problems, sexual dysfunction, lower sperm count, decreased sperm motility, cervical scarring, or muscle issues, for example. Treated sperm (washed semen) is inserted into the cavity of the uterus so that it is nearer to the ovaries before ovulation, increasing the chance of fertilization. This form of ART is less expensive than IVF.

In Vitro Fertilization (IVF)

IVF is the most popular assisted reproductive treatment and involves fertilizing a woman's egg outside of the body, and the process can take four to six weeks to complete. The treatment involves ovarian stimulation through a hormonal prescription, sperm collection, egg retrieval, egg fertilization, and viable embryo transfer after 9-14 days blood will be taken to see if the embryo has successfully been planted.

1 September## Where to get IVF in Hong Kong?

Private options: Through the private route, you may experience shorter waiting periods depending on the doctor, more flexibility, choice, and complete follow-through when it comes to the reproductive specialist doctor of your choice.

Here is a complete list of private hospitals/clinics that provide IVF services:

Note: you must be legally married (same-sex marriages excluded), both parties must consent to the procedure, and there is no age or citizenship requirement for the private option.

Public options: The public route is stricter, more limited, and waiting times can be long and challenging, but the cost is more affordable. Here is a complete list of public hospitals/clinics that provide IVF services:


*Source: from the Council of Human Reproductive Technology's list of licensed centers as of September 1, 2021. You can find the Council's complete list of licensed centers here. While some of the listed centers do not provide IVF services, they offer other fertility-related services.

How much does IVF cost in Hong Kong?

Public route within the public sector: IVF in the public system is not free but heavily subsidized by the Hospital Authority. For example, the cost of IVF at the Prince of Whales Hospital ranges from approximately HK$10,000 to HK$24,500 with ICSI and frozen embryo storage (a detailed price list through the public system can be found here).

Private route within the public sector: The teaching hospitals offer a private option with a shorter wait time, but higher fees. At the Prince of Whales, the estimated cost per cycle is HK$37,360 to HK$79,310 with ICSI and frozen embryo storage (a detailed price list through the public system can be found here).

Private Sector: The costs of doing fertility treatment through a private hospital or clinic are substantially higher than going through public health services. Private sector fees are not standardized. IVF packages usually cost between $HK80,000 and HK$150,000 per cycle, dependent on the facility and services required. Keep in mind all costs are likely on a per-cycle basis.

Want a better insurance experience?

Which health insurance covers IVF?

In Hong Kong, the vast majority of health insurance plans do not cover IVF. Only a handful of high-end international plans will cover IVF in Hong Kong, and such coverage is usually only included in a maternity benefit. If you have already been diagnosed with fertility issues, you are not entitled to the benefits as your condition is considered pre-existing.

Furthermore, depending on the plan, there is a waiting period between 12 to 24 months, which means you cannot be reimbursed for IVF related medical costs for the 1st and 2nd year of your medical insurance policy. Considering how expensive IVF treatment is in Hong Kong, insurance only covers a minimal portion of the overall cost.

The following insurance providers offer coverage for assisted reproductive technology:

ALC (PLATINUM)

Coverage: Cover limited to US$3,000 per cycle with a maximum of 3 cycles per lifetime. This benefit is subject to 50% co-insurance.

Waiting period: None

What is covered: IVF Treatment In vitro and assisted fertilization. All treatment is dependent on our pre-authorization, and we reserve the right to decline the claim in full.

APRIL (MY HEALTH INTERNATIONAL)

Coverage: Up to €/$ 1,500 or €/$ 2,500 per attempt.

Waiting period of 12 months

What is covered: Pharmacy items, in vitro fertilization, diagnostic tests, and follow-up examinations


MSH (FIRST EXPAT)

Coverage: Limited to US$1,100, US$1,500 or US$1,900 per attempt with lifetime limit of US$4,400, US$6,000 or US$7,600.

Waiting period: 12 months

Looking for health insurance for yourself, your family or your team?

Alea brings you choice, unbiased advice and personalized service, with access to 100+ options from 25 insurance companies. Receive a free comparison quote or schedule a chat with us today.

An advisor will be in touch to answer all your questions!


This article was independently written by Alea and is not sponsored. It is informative only and not intended to be a substitute for professional advice and should never be relied upon for specific advice.