CFE top-up insurance in Qatar: 42% of a hospital stay and the Doha maternity packages

The CFE's zone 3 rates in Qatar, how its fixed birth amounts meet the nine-month packages Aster publishes in Doha, the cash advance, Qatar's health insurance law, and what to check in a top-up.

Reviewed by a licensed advisor

Updated

·

Meilleures Complémentaires CFE au Qatar en 2026

With the CFE alone in Qatar you keep 58% of every hospital bill, so most families add a top-up or an employer plan. In zone 3, where the CFE places Qatar, care given since 1 January 2026 is refunded at 42% of the real cost for a hospital stay, a flat 21 € for a GP or specialist visit and a fixed amount for each birth. There is no CFE hospital direct billing in Qatar, so the money is advanced by you and refunded later.

Zone 3 is a middle band, shared with Saudi Arabia, Kuwait, Oman, Japan and Germany; Qatar's neighbour, the United Arab Emirates, is a band lower. This page covers Qatar's rates, the CFE's share of the maternity packages published in Doha, Qatar's insurance law and the top-up points that matter there; for how zones work, see what is the CFE.

How much does the CFE reimburse in Qatar?

Care in Qatar

CFE share, zone 3, 2026

Hospitalisation (medicine, surgery, day surgery, intensive care)

42% of the real cost

Ultrasound, X-ray, scan, MRI and other technical acts

30%

Laboratory tests

30%

Prescribed medicines

55%

Doctor's consultation, GP or specialist

21 €

Midwife consultation

18.55 €

Paediatrician, child aged 0 to 6

24.50 €

Delivery without complications: vaginal / caesarean

3,164.11 € / 3,573.64 €, fixed

The hospital rate is a share of the whole real bill, with no ceiling in either direction: on a QAR 50,000 stay, taken here only as an illustration, the CFE would pay QAR 21,000 and QAR 29,000 would stay with you. A long-term condition recognised by the CFE improves some outpatient rates, but never the 42%.

Source: CFE, guarantees 2026 (arrêté of 17 December 2025), CFE list of countries by zone and CFE membership guide 2026, read 4 Nov 2026. The QAR 50,000 bill is an illustration, not a price.

What does the CFE pay on a Doha maternity package?

Aster Hospital on Old Airport Road, Doha, publishes two packages that cover the whole pregnancy, not just the delivery, "valid for a limited time" with no end date:

Aster package

Published price

Included, as printed

CFE fixed amount for the birth

Normal delivery, 2 days' stay

QAR 11,999

Up to 15 gynaecology consultations, up to 5 ultrasounds, 15 essential blood tests, antenatal classes, newborn screenings and 2 vaccinations, post-delivery physiotherapy and dietitian visit

3,164.11 €

Caesarean, 3 days' stay

QAR 17,600

The same pregnancy care

3,573.64 €

  • One price, several CFE lines. Besides the fixed birth amount, the CFE covers some pregnancy exams up to 100% depending on the zone from the start of pregnancy, and all medical expenses from the first day of the sixth month to the twelfth day after the birth. How it splits a single nine-month price between these lines is not stated: ask Aster for an itemised invoice and the CFE for its reading before the birth.

  • What Aster excludes: epidural, an emergency stay in neonatal intensive care, specialised medicines, circumcision and extra nights. These are billed on top.

  • No euro conversion. Without a European Central Bank reference rate for the Qatari riyal, we set no euro figure against Aster's prices, while the CFE's fixed amounts are paid in euros.

  • A late CFE membership. When you joined more than three months after leaving France, the birth is covered only if conception came after your membership date.

No private hospital page we read in Qatar printed a consultation fee or a room rate; Al Emadi's offer page and Sidra Medicine's obstetrics pages show no price.

Source: Aster Qatar delivery packages, read 4 Nov 2026; CFE guarantees 2026 and membership guide 2026 (page 25); Code de la sécurité sociale R762-8.

Does the CFE settle Qatari hospital bills directly?

No. CFE hospital direct billing exists in 33 countries, and Qatar is not one of them. You pay Hamad, Sidra or a private hospital in full, ask for the CFE hospitalisation claim form to be completed, then file the claim online within 2 years; the 42% comes back in euros by bank transfer. To avoid the advance you need a private insurer with its own direct billing agreements in Qatar.

Source: CFE membership guide 2026 (pages 14, 15, 32 to 35) and CFE list of countries by zone, read 4 Nov 2026.

What does Qatar's health insurance law require?

Qatar regulates healthcare services under Law No. 22 of 2021. Its implementing regulations, published in the Official Gazette on 1 September 2022 and reported on the government portal Hukoomi, require the recruiter to contract "one of the registered insurance companies to cover all those recruited who do not have insurance coverage from the employer". For visitors the rule is already detailed by the Ministry of Public Health: anyone who needs a prior entry visa must buy visitor insurance before the visa is issued, at QAR 50 a month, covering emergencies and accidents. Relatives coming from France on such a visa therefore need their own policy.

Qatar's law makes no reference to the CFE, and no CFE document we read explains how its refunds combine with Qatari cover. Ask your employer what its plan pays before deciding what a top-up must add.

Source: Ministry of Public Health, mandatory health insurance scheme and Hukoomi, obligations under the health insurance law, read 4 Nov 2026.

What should a CFE top-up cover in Qatar?

For Qatar, look at the four points below (the general mechanics are in what is a CFE top-up):

  • Your 58% share of a Doha stay, which has no ceiling: look for a contract that pays on the real cost, with a high annual limit.

  • Maternity: a private contract usually has its own maternity waiting period, so take it out well before a pregnancy, and check it pays the items Aster leaves out, such as the epidural and neonatal intensive care.

  • Direct billing with the Doha hospitals you would use, since the CFE has none in Qatar.

  • Consultations and tests: 21 € a visit and 30% of tests leave most outpatient bills with you.

Source: CFE guarantees 2026, read 4 Nov 2026.

How Alea helps

Alea, a Hong Kong-based broker and the official CFE representative for Hong Kong, China and Singapore, also helps French expats in Qatar: when to join the CFE, how to read an employer plan, and a comparison of top-ups and first-euro formulas from more than 50 insurers. For the two routes, read CFE top-up or first-euro insurance; to join, see how to join the CFE and CFE waiting periods. Start with our CFE page, or talk to an advisor for a free quote with no commitment.

Which CFE zone covers Qatar?

Qatar is in CFE zone 3, the same band as Saudi Arabia, Kuwait and Oman, while the United Arab Emirates are in zone 4. In Qatar the CFE pays 42% of the real cost of a hospital stay, 30% of imaging and laboratory tests, 55% of medicines and 21 € per consultation. Births are paid as fixed amounts of 3,164.11 € or 3,573.64 €.

Is there CFE direct billing in Qatar?

Qatar has no CFE hospital direct billing, so you advance the full bill and claim afterwards. The CFE then pays 42% of a stay in euros by transfer, usually within days of an online claim. If you want a Doha hospital to be paid without an advance, you need a private insurer that has its own direct billing agreement with that hospital.

Must I have local health insurance in Qatar?

Qatar's Law No. 22 of 2021 regulates healthcare services, and its 2022 implementing regulations require recruiters to insure recruits who have no cover from their employer. Visitors who need a prior visa must buy visitor insurance at QAR 50 a month for emergencies and accidents. Whether the CFE counts towards Qatari rules is not stated; ask your employer.

How much does a birth cost at Aster in Doha, and what does the CFE pay?

At Aster Hospital, Old Airport Road, Doha, a nine-month package with a normal delivery is published at QAR 11,999 and one with a caesarean at QAR 17,600, antenatal care included. The CFE pays a fixed 3,164.11 € or 3,573.64 € for the birth, plus its usual pregnancy cover. Epidural, neonatal intensive care and extra nights are excluded from the package.

When should I join the CFE if I move to Qatar?

Moving to Qatar and joining within three months of settling avoids any waiting period. After that, you wait 3 months if under 45 and 6 months from 45. If a pregnancy is planned in Doha, join early: when you join more than three months after leaving France, conception must come after the membership date.

What does a top-up add to the CFE for life in Qatar?

For life in Qatar it pays what the CFE leaves, up to its limits: 58% of a hospital stay, most of each consultation and 70% of tests. Some add direct billing in Doha hospitals and cover for items maternity packages exclude, such as an epidural. With its own waiting periods, a private top-up should be taken out well before a planned birth.

Francois Bossé

Written by

François Bossé

Insurance Advisor

Backdrop

Need some help?

We’re here to provide support and assistance.

Ready to find your plan?

Free, no-obligation quote

Expert, human advice

Save time & money

Compare 50+ Insurers Now

Ready to find your plan?

Free, no-obligation quote

Expert, human advice

Save time & money

Compare 50+ Insurers Now

Ready to find your plan?

Free, no-obligation quote

Expert, human advice

Save time & money

Compare 50+ Insurers Now